DIY Lavender Deodorant {all-natural}

I know what you’re thinking, “I would never wear homemade deodorant.”

I basically thought the same thing, especially after I tried a handful of “all-natural” options that I swear made me smell bad.  Like, applying them seriously made my armpits smell funky.  But your typical deodorant and/or antiperspirant tends to be loaded with all sorts of chemicals, namely aluminum.

So what exactly do these sticks of gunk we apply to our underarms actually do? … well, deodorants block odor by killing bacteria, while antiperspirants prevent sweating.  Aluminum is often found in the latter, and actually blocks your sweat glands.  It’s even been shown that your body can actually get used to your antiperspirant, which lessens the effectiveness over time.

But anyways, I found a recipe for deodorant on Greatist, and had the ingredients handy.  How could I not give it a try?!

DIY Deodorant

(recipe from Greatist article, DIY Deodorant: The 4-Ingredient Recipe to De-Stink Naturally)

What you need:

  • 1/2 c coconut oil
  • 1/4 c cornstarch
  • 1/4 c baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp essential oil (I used lavender)
  1. Start off by melting your coconut oil in the microwave
  2. Mix in essential oil
  3. Add cornstarch and baking soda and mix until smooth
  4. Transfer to a jar.
IMG_9270

easy diy deodorant

I put mine in the fridge initially until it hardened; now I keep it under my bathroom sink!  Just apply with your fingertips.

The Verdict

It really works in keeping you smell-free!  Though if you’re a sweaty person, it won’t prevent sweating.  Not a bad option to keep handy if you’re looking for more natural alternatives to your skincare routine.

Have you tried homemade deodorant?  Are there any “all-natural” options you like that actually work?

 

 

Leave a Reply

