Winter Wellness: Lemon Ginger Cayenne Shot {immunity booster}

Two weeks ago today something terrible happened: I got sick. You know how it usually starts…perhaps you had that sneeze (you know the one) or maybe a raging sore throat started out of nowhere…

In this case, my cold began with the latter. I went to bed on Christmas Eve thinking I’d wake up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed on Christmas morning. Let’s just say I was miserable all night and woke up with a full-blown cold (insert sad face here).

People get sick. In fact, everyone kept telling me, “there’s definitely something going around.” But me catching this aforementioned “something”? Come on!  I do NOT fall into the general population when it comes to sickness epidemics.  Of course this led to me overanalyzing why I was one of the sickies. I haven’t been sick sick in almost 2 1/2 years.

Sure, I’ve had moments where I feel run down, but I pop my vitamins, up my water intake and gets lots of rest and I’m good as new.

Needless to say I thought this cold would pass in a day or two. One week later (on New Year’s Eve no less), I was even more sick and had had enough; I finally got my butt to the doctor. I needed an antibiotic since it was bacterial. I kicked off my antibiotic regimen that night and felt a million times better the next day.

While getting sick is a fact of life, this bout inspired me to put together a series of “Winter Wellness” posts for all of you out there that are sick and tired of being sick and tired – especially this winter.

I’m kicking it off with this Lemon Ginger Cayenne Shot so get ready to take some shots, shots, shots, shots…okay, you get the idea.  Let’s break down why each component is great for your immunity (and some of the additional benefits) before you bust out your juicer.

Ginger

Personally, ginger and I have a love/hate relationship.  It’s spicy and warming and sometimes it burns so good.  Some benefits include:

  • helps relieve nausea and motion sickness
  • aids in digestion
  • anti-inflammatory
  • antihistamine properties
  • natural expectorant

Tip: a little goes a long way, so don’t overdo it

Lemon

Lemon is uplifting and a great way to start your day.  In fact, I can’t recommend drinking a glass of warm water with lemon on an empty stomach first thing enough.  You can check out my Easy Lemon Cleanse blog post to learn more about the benefits of lemon too, but here they are in the meantime:

  • boots your immune system
  • balances pH
  • helps with weight loss
  • aids digestion
  • acts as a gentle, natural diuretic
  • clears skin
  • hydrates the lymph system

Cayenne Pepper

This spice has loads of health benefits, but I’ll list the main ones:

  • helps with digestion
  • anti-fungal properties
  • anti-bacterial properties
  • anti-allergen
  • helps with cold and flu symptoms (BOOM!)

Okay, NOW you can bust out the juicer!

Lemon Ginger Cayenne Shot
from “The Juice Generation Book” recipe “Vital Shot” (you can order it here; if you have a juicer, then I HIGHLY recommend buying this book!)

What you need:

  • 1 inch fresh ginger, peeled
  • 1/2 medium lemon, peeled
  • dash of cayenne pepper
ginger + lemon + cayenne

ginger + lemon + cayenne

What to do:

Juice the ginger and lemon into a shot glass.  Or a mason jar first, then transfer to a shot glass.

ready for the shot glasses

ready for the shot glasses

Add a dash of cayenne pepper.

shots, shots, shots!

shots, shots, shots!

Cheers!  Down that bad boy ASAP and you’re on your way to kicking that cold in the bud*.

*You should take this shot when you have that sneeze or that raging sore throat starts (aka at the first sign you are getting sick!).  This shot will kick your immunity up a notch.  I also have been taking one each day this past week.  While I’m more or less back to feeling 100%, I know my immunity is still in need of a little boost and this does the trick.  My boyfriend has been taking them as well and has been sickness free thus far.

Stay tuned for more all natural immunity boosters to keep you well this winter xo

One thought on “Winter Wellness: Lemon Ginger Cayenne Shot {immunity booster}

  1. Pingback: Winter Wellness: Warming Ginger Almond Milk {immunity booster} | healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

