Dairy-Free Sour Cream (aka Cashew Cream) {vegan, gluten-free}

I drafted this post up this past Sunday on what was perhaps the longest bus ride I’ve ever endured from the Cape to NYC.  Had to do a little editing, but it’s ready for you.  Enjoy!

If you’re wondering what I’m doing right now, I’m actually blogging on a bus.  Not ideal, but sometimes you just have to blog no matter where you are or what you’re doing.

I just happen to be heading back from the Cape.

It’s quite the scene really: purse on lap, iPad on purse, computer in bag by my feet because dude next to me is invading my personal space and between him elbowing me and the woman in front of me with an infant and fully reclined… well, no room for laptop.  And in case you thought I was having too much fun, there’s a ton of traffic.

There’s also a high likelihood my iPad is going to die.  But, on the bright side, there have been worse bus rides in my day.

I’m babbling, sorry.  What I really wanted to share with you today is amazing and something I can’t believe I didn’t get around to making sooner (especially since I have been limiting my dairy intake over the past 2+ years).

Sour cream is one of those staple condiments for lots of us.  Those of you who know me know that one of my many obsessions is Mexican food.  I seriously cannot get enough and sour cream is, like, an essential component.  Mexican food without sour cream is like peanut butter without jelly, and in my opinion, worse!  But what if you want a vegan option that’s easy to make and a great substitute for the real thing?  If that’s the case, then you’re in luck!

Dairy-Free Sour Cream (aka Cashew Cream)

by Healthy Girl and the City

Makes about 6 dollops

What you need:

  • 1 c cashews, soaked for 3 hours
  • 1/3 c water (can add a little more if you don’t like it as thick)
  • pinch of sea salt

What to do:

  1. Soak cashews, then drain and add to blender
  2. Add water and sea salt and blend until you reach desired consistency (adding more water if needed)
soaked, drained and ready to get creamed!

soaked, drained and ready to get creamed!

vegan sour cream

vegan sour cream

Add it to your favorite Mexican food or anything else that requires sour cream.

By the way, that bus ride was 8 hours.  That doesn’t include me getting to the bus, waiting for a cab at Port Authority or the cab ride home. 

Leave a Reply

