Raw Honey + Coconut Oil Face Mask {DIY Beauty} and A Spring Detox!

Today I am blogging from my balcony!  Loving this weather and hoping it’s here to stay.

blogging on the balcony! #spring #sunshine #nofilter

blogging on the balcony! #spring #sunshine #nofilter

I am also bringing you something new/different than usual!  While what we put into our bodies is super important, being healthy is about everything around you.  That includes what you’re putting on your skin.  I’ve been experimenting a lot these days with DIY Beauty (my boyfriend probably thinks I’m crazy at this point and I’m totes fine with it) and am going to start sharing some of the best/my favorite concoctions I come up with so you can detox your life.

Spring Clean Your Diet!

But before I get into all things “diy beauty”, I want to let you all know that I have a 12 Day Group Spring Cleaning Detox starting Monday, May 5th.  Registration closes tonight at midnight, but if you want to try it solo, you can start anytime.  Simply fill out the form below to contact me and we can get you looking and feeling your best in no time.

You can also learn more by visiting my website: Spring Clean Your Diet!

DIY Beauty: Raw Honey + Coconut Oil

I first saw this idea on coconutoil.com and immediately went home, threw it together and slapped it on my face.  It was AMAZING.

Let’s go over why these two all natural ingredients are perfect for your skin.

Why raw honey?  (And yes, it must be raw so it’s in its most natural form.)

  • naturally antibacterial so is great for prevention and treatment of acne
  • loaded with antioxidants = all natural anti-aging treatment
  • moisturizing and soothing to give you a healthy glow
  • clarifying (aka helps open up those pores)
  • exfoliating

Why coconut oil?

You guys know I freaking love this stuff.  I even just bought The Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife…

the coconut oil miracle

the coconut oil miracle

Can’t wait to actually read it and learn more.  But, in the meantime let me tell you why I freaking love coconut oil in this mask.

  • easily absorbed, which makes your skin soft and smooth
  • full of antioxidants to help fend off free radical damage

Let’s do this mask already, shall we?!

Simply Raw Honey + Coconut Oil Face Mask

by Healthy Girl and the City

What you need:

Use all organic ingredients when possible!

  • 1 tsp raw honey
  • 1 tsp organic coconut oil
raw honey + coconut oil

raw honey + coconut oil

What to do:

Combine the two in a small cup, then apply to cleansed face.  Let sit for 10-15 minutes, and gently rinse off with warm water and pat dry.

The result?  Glowing, hydrated skin!

I recommend applying this face mask weekly for optimal results.  And don’t forget that coconut oil liquefies on the skin due to temperature so be sure to have a towel handy.

Feel free to add 1 tbsp of each ingredient if you want to make enough for multiple uses, but be sure to store in the fridge in an airtight container and take out about 30 minutes before using so coconut oil has a chance to soften.

What are some of your favorite DIY Beauty concoctions?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

