Maple Walnut Chia Pudding {vegan + gluten-free}

I love dessert.

I also love chia seeds.  I’ve touted them time and time again, but they’re loaded with lots of antioxidants and are a good source of both omega-3s and protein.  And let’s not forget, fiber!

They’re also super versatile and I put them in everything from green juice to smoothies to my Post Workout “Ice Cream” to my Dark Chocolate Almond Chia Banana Oatmeal Cookies, to name just a few.  It’s like that Frank’s Red Hot Commercial, but with chia (“I put that sh*t on everything!) – cause, why not?!

Part of living a healthy lifestyle is always having healthy food on hand, especially when it comes to snacking and/or dessert.  Which is why a few weeks ago I decided I needed to have something healthy prepared for that moment at like 8pm when I just needed a little sweet fix.

Yes, even Health Coaches sometimes having cravings for something sweet at night.  That’s why I have to be prepared, and you should be too!  No excuses!!!

What was this healthy snack/dessert I whipped up?  Well, the main ingredient was of course…CHIA!

I’ve whipped up a few chia pudding recipes, including a Chai Chia Pudding and Chocolate Raspberry Chia Pudding.  Both are good, but I wanted to mix it up a bit and make something super easy:

Maple Walnut Chia Pudding

by Healthy Girl in the City

Serves 2-3

What you need:

  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk (I used vanilla)
  • 3 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • pinch of Himalaya Pink Salt (or sea salt will do just fine)
  • 1 tbsp crushed walnuts per serving

What to do:

  • Throw everything into a mason jar (or airtight container), shake well and refrigerate overnight – the longer, the better;  I let mine sit in the fridge for a good 24 hours.
  • Give it another good shake, top with crushed walnuts and get your snack on!
maple walnut chia puddin'

maple walnut chia puddin’

Leave a Reply

