Red Velvet Smoothie

Yep, it’s another recipe involving chocolate. I don’t know whether I should be apologizing or you should be thanking me!

Since I have smoothies almost everyday, I am always brainstorming the next best thing.  If I blogged about every smoothie recipe I’ve ever made, you would all have a case of smoothie overload.  But, I do my best to share some of my favorites, and this one is definitely a contender.

My Red Velvet Smoothie contains not only chocolate, but cherries (not the maraschino variety), which are chock full of nutrients, including:

  • antioxidants
  • potassium (1 cup has as much as a banana)
  • low in calories – at 100 calories/cup, cherries are a great snack
  • fiber
  • B vitamins – perfect if you’re in need of a little energy boost!

Cherries are in season from late spring through the summer.  When they’re not, I’m always sure to have a bag of frozen cherries on hand.

Shall we move onto the recipe now?

Red Velvet Smoothie
by Healthy Girl and the City

What you need:

  • 1/2 banana, frozen
  • 3/4 c frozen cherries
  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk (I used vanilla)
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein (I used Shaklee 180)
  • 1 tbsp cacao (or unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia
  • 1 handful spinach, frozen
  • 1-2 ice cubes, optional

What to do:

Throw everything in the blender, blend & enjoy!

ta-da: red velvet smoothie!

ta-da: red velvet smoothie!

This Red Velvet Smoothie is so good, you won’t even miss the frosting!

Leave a Reply

