Dark Chocolate Almond Butter with Sea Salt Goodness

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before – I love chocolate, especially dark chocolate.  I also like almond butter, a lot; combine the two, add a little sea salt & BOOM.

Salty & sweet is my weakness.

The back story to the goodness I’m about to share:

I work with an amazing company called Urban Detox Club, a whole foods based detox company that I’ve blogged about my fair share.  Long story short, I typically eat within our detox guidelines during the week and allow myself some indulgences on the weekends.  While not exactly “detox friendly”, this snack is only a tiny cheat if I need a little something-something Monday through Friday.

What does that mean exactly?  It’s practically guilt free, but definitely satisfies all my cravings whether salty or sweet!  The best part is that this recipe is a single serving, aka you can’t overdo it.

Dark Chocolate Almond Butter with Sea Salt Goodness
by Healthy Girl and the City
Serves 1

What you need:

1 tbsp dark chocolate chips
1 tbsp almond butter (I used Whole Food’s crunchy almond butter)
1-2 pinches iodized sea salt*

What to do:

Combine the dark chocolate chips and almond butter in a ramekin or small dish & microwave for about 30 seconds.  Stir to combine.  You can choose to add sea salt at this point, or wait to sprinkle, which is how I roll.

all warm & gooey - you'll want to just eat it straight out of the container you heat it in!

all warm & gooey – you’ll want to just eat it straight out of the container you heat it in!

below you will see brown rice cake + dark chocolate almond butter with sea salt topping:

eat.me.

eat.me.

This combo is great on brown rice cakes as I mentioned above (my personal favorite), toast, ice cream…basically it’s amazing on just about anything; the possibilities are endless!

Think: post workout banana dipped in this stuff.  That alone will make you want to hit the gym!

If you want it on the chocolatier side, use 1 tbsp dark chocolate & 1/2 tbsp almond butter – it will be a little runnier this way.

*Why iodized sea salt?  While too much sodium is a bad thing, iodine is an essential nutrient that we need for our thyroid to function properly.  Everything in moderation.  More on this topic in an upcoming post!

Leave a Reply

