Corporate Wellness with Benefits

I am excited to announce that I am expanding my company, Wellness Rains, into corporate wellness!

Before making the leap into a career as a Certified Health Coach and yoga instructor, I was a stressed out financial sales professional.  While I have always been in generally good health, I found myself eating out of stress (succumbing to those junk food cravings), skipping the gym after a long sedentary work day, losing sleep because of stress at work, and always having a reason to justify all of the above.

And, of course, there were those habitual happy hours I found myself constantly planning, in the hopes of alleviating my stress.  But all of this was normal for me and my friends in the corporate world.

I thought I was bad, but I was surrounded by more of the same, and in most cases my colleagues exhibited even less healthy behaviors, such as: eating whatever they wanted; having lunch at their desks everyday; not exercising; and frequently stressed out.  It didn’t help that at most of my previous places of employment, morale was so low that the thought of going to work would bring me, and I’m sure many of my counterparts, to tears.

Obviously, work wasn’t always depressing and some days actually weren’t so bad, but I’m sure my coworkers and I would have benefitted from a well structured corporate wellness program.  I’m not referring to an annual health fair, where companies come in and pitch their services during lunch.  Sometimes there wasn’t even time to sneak off to those!  I’m not sure people learned much at these events anyway, other than that they enjoyed their free 5 minute massage and 15 minutes away from their desk.

I’m sure most of you can resonate with this; we spend a majority of our time at work, not even factoring in commuting time, another stressor in and of itself!  Stress alone can lead to colds, headaches, food cravings and lack of sleep.  A wellness program – perhaps with some in-office yoga – has endless benefits, for both the body and the mind.

How exactly would a corporate wellness program benefit both you and your employer?  Well, here are the facts:

Pros of Corporate Wellness

  • less sick time
  • reduced absenteeism from factors other than sickness: stress; unhealthy eating habits; or exhaustion from being over worked
  • reduction in injuries – even at an office job people experience back pain & carpel tunnel syndrome from sitting hunched over at their desks most of the day
  • reduced healthcare costs because the employees learn healthier habits
  • increased productivity – a healthy employee is a happy employee
  • higher employee retention – what employee wouldn’t want to work at a company that put their wellbeing first?

and, as a certified yoga instructor, part of my wellness program includes yoga in the workplace, which can:

  • improve productivity and mental clarity
  • help employees de-stress, which helps them relax and in turn allows them to be more productive – when they take time away from their desks, they have time to focus on their breathing and forget about everything else
  • help employees fit in physical activity, when they otherwise might not have time
  • TEAM BUILDING!  – yoga in the office is a great way to bring people together

Cons

Hmmm, I can’t think of any…

The verdict

It’s a win-win for everyone.

I would love your feedback in the comments below.  I also have a survey that you can fill out to help me get even more insight as to what you need to improve your health in the workplace: Corporate Wellness Survey

Interested in speaking further?  Don’t hesitate to contact me!

What are three things you’re not currently doing that, if you started, would improve your health?

wellness rains: where wellness begins

wellness rains: where wellness begins

Leave a Reply

