Almond Joy Oatmeal

Disclaimer: today’s post is coming from my iPhone!  Please excuse any and all grammatical or formatting errors🙂

Some days all I want for breakfast is oatmeal.  Especially when it’s snowy and cold outside; it’s my breakfast equivalent of soup!

Oatmeal itself is like a canvas, and I love how creative I can get with it.

Last week I went the chocolatey route.  But to make it even better I threw some coconut and almonds in the mix.  After all, I already have my Almond Joy Smoothie, so of course I needed its oatmeal equivalent!  Duh.

Almond Joy Oatmeal
By Healthy Girl and the City
Serves 1

What you need:

  • 1 serving of your favorite oats, prepared (I used Trader Joe’s Quick Cook Steel Cut Oats)
  • 1 tbsp coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp chia
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil (just because of all its health benefits; learn more here)
  • 2 tbsp almond milk, or milk of your choice: optional
  • 1 tbsp chopped or sliced almonds: optional

What to do:

Prepare oats and stir everything in, adding optional ingredients last.

Simply delicious…

Option one is featured below without milk and almonds:

20140121-135411.jpg

And if you like a little crunch (aka you’re a texture eater like me), there’s option 2:

20140121-135521.jpg

What’s your favorite kind of oatmeal?  Hint: don’t answer that until you’ve made this!

2 thoughts on “Almond Joy Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

