Using Flax As An Egg Substitute AND An Eggless Dark Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe!

I’m not a huge egg person, though every once in a while I enjoy an egg white omelet or some scrambled eggs.  Sometimes I even enjoy the hard-boiled variety.  Regardless, when it comes to eggs, I always go organic.

I find myself baking with them quite a bit.  And I love flax… (check out Flax – I’m Obsessed!, an oldie but goodie post on why I love the stuff)

light dawns on marble head

FLAX CAN BE USED AS AN EGG SUBSTITUTE!  I blogged about this awhile ago in my above mentioned “flax” post, but had never really tried it.  Better late than never!

I was about to whip up some pancakes for myself and the boyfriend when this whole “egg substitute” idea hit me, so I decided to have some fun.

A few things to note:

  • My boyfriend is always hesitant to consume healthy alternatives to his favorite foods, so I didn’t tell him I was whipping healthy pancakes til after the fact
  • He also has a dislike of pumpkin, so I kept that a secret until after he polished his off
  • I have an obsession with dark chocolate chips
  • The batter with the flax egg substitute tasted horrible…

Yeah, you read that right.  The batter had that funky flax flavor, which is okay sometimes but not when it comes to pancakes.

I should probably share the recipe at this point?  Especially since it’s Saturday morning and you’re probably debating what you want for breakfast/brunch!

Eggless Dark Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes

I used Ambitious Kitchen’s Perfect Pumpkin Pancakes with Dark Chocolate Chips recipe.

My tweaks:

  • I used 3/4 c all-purpose flour since I was out of whole wheat
  • The recipe called for two egg whites – I opted to use an “egg”, aka 1 tbsp flax + 3 tbsp water; I mixed the two together and let it sit for about 10 minutes (almost a yoke-like texture)
  • 1/2 c dark chocolate chips & I mixed them into the batter – the more, the merrier
  • The recipe only made 4 medium sized pancakes – 1 was filling enough for me!
get in my belly!

get in my belly!

My takeaways:

The pancakes definitely had an interesting texture – not fluffy, more dense, and they definitely didn’t have that funky flax flavor that the batter did.  Phew!

A definitely must-make when you’re craving those weekend pancakes!

Have you ever used flax as an egg substitute?

Leave a Reply

