Simply Apple Crock Pot Applesauce

I freaking love applesauce.  I like never eat it, but I love it nonetheless.  Homemade is the only way to go as far as I’m concerned.

And with all these apples from our recent trip to the orchard, I had to get busy.

SO MANY APPLES

SO MANY APPLES

When I was younger, I vaguely remember making applesauce and adding sugar into the pot.  I mean, really?  Aren’t apples sweet enough as they are?  Which always baffles me as to why so many juices out there contain added sugar.  Is that really necessary?  But, we’re not here to talk about juice so let’s focus here…

Simply Apple Crock Pot Applesauce

By Healthy Girl and the City

Makes about 6 cups

What you need:

  • 12 apples, diced with skin on (use apples of your choice – I used macintosh; you can also feel free to peel the apples)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Um, yes!  That is really all you need!!!

What you do:

  • Throw diced apples into crock pot on HIGH, stirring after 1 hour
  • After 2.5 hours, began to mash the apples – this is when you’ll stir in 1 tsp cinnamon
  • After 3 hours, mash again and let cool
  • You can mash to desired consistency or throw in the blender on high for a few seconds since that’s much easier (especially if you left the skin on the apples)
diced & in the crockpot!

diced & in the crock pot!

applesauce post mash, but pre blender

applesauce post mash, but pre blender

post blender & ready to eat!

post blender & ready to eat!

I apologize in advance for the ghetto fabulous photos.  I’m blaming bad lighting on this one.  Almost looks like I put pumpkin puree in the applesauce.  Wouldn’t put it past me, but that wasn’t the case here.  Though not a bad idea now that I’m thinking about it.

Anyways, it’s yummy and makes a great healthy snack, especially this time of year.

Moral of this blog?  If you have apples, a crock pot and 3 hours on your hands, this is a must make.

I even put some into my smoothie today – GASP!  It was SO good.

Shout out to my little sister on her birthday today – HAPPY 21ST MAGGIE xo

Leave a Reply

