PB&J Smoothie

I have to admit, I was never a PB&J kinda kid.  I was the weirdo that always had the jelly sandwiches because I hate peanut butter.  In fact, I’m one of the few people on earth today that doesn’t like the stuff.  Never have, never will.

I also grew up in a house that only ever had grape jelly; yuck.  It was always exciting to go to my grandparents’ house or a friend’s, where I was able to enjoy a strawberry jam sandwich.  Well, I was never overly thrilled about eating jelly sandwiches at my grandparents’ – my Nana always made them on pumpernickel bread.  But, at least she had the strawberry jam.

Now I’m almost 30 (!!!) and this nut butter thing is kind of new to me.  It took me awhile, but I can finally say that I do like almond butter.

Baby steps, people, baby steps.

So, I got to thinking about creating a PB&J that both adults and kids would love; even us peanut butter haters.  And, since smoothies are kind of my thing:  almond butter + strawberries…

almond butter + strawberries

almond butter + strawberries

PB&J Smoothie

Or, as my boyfriend would say, “it’s peanut butta, jelly time!”

By Healthy Girl and the City

What you need:

  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 c frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 tbsp almond butter (or peanut butter – any nut butter will do!)
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 2 scoops Shaklee Vanilla protein (or protein powder of your choice, but you can read why Shaklee rocks here)

What to do:

Throw everything into a blender & enjoy!

Almost like the real pb&j, but better.

Coming Soon on Healthy Girl and the City

um, yeah, this just totally happened...

um, yeah, this just totally happened…

I have a Pumpkin Chai Smoothie coming at you very soon, and many other pumpkin recipes to follow.  Never too early in my book!

Did you love pb&j as a kid?

Leave a Reply

