Yes, You Should Take Supplements!

Supplements.  I’ve been wanting to blog on this topic forever, so here it goes; finally!

As a Certified Health Coach, everyone always asks me, “Should I be taking supplements?”  And my answer is always, “YES!”

For awhile I would send them to Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s or a drug store since there wasn’t any specific brand I recommended.  I’ve always known about the importance of supplements, but how could I recommend a brand when most of them made me feel sick to my stomach (with a meal no less)?

In fact, aside from the whole “Wow, these vitamins are making me nauseous” thing, you have to consider whether or not the vitamins are even working.  Some of them go right through your system and aren’t even absorbed!  Say what?!  Endure nausea for nothing?  Yep.  And that’s not cool.

So, I had to get busy and do my research – not only for my sake, but for my clients.  I needed a brand I could trust – a brand that was reputable with vitamins that work.  Oh, and that made products with none of those icky nasty fillers AND that didn’t make me queasy.  Quite the task.

I won’t bore you with the details, but I ended up partnering with Shaklee and have never looked back.

I now kick off each day with none other than (drum roll please…):

Vitalizer!!!

whoop, there it is! my daily dose of wonderful.

whoop, there it is! my daily dose of wonderful.

another pic for your viewing pleasure

another pic for your viewing pleasure

best strip of vitamins ever made - so convenient too!

best strip of vitamins ever made – so convenient too!

What the strip contains:

  • Multivitamin (green)
  • B & C complex (yellow)
  • Carotenoids, vitamin E and omega-3 fatty acids (red)
  • Probiotic (little white ball)

NO artificial flavors, sweeteners or preservatives and gluten free!

For those of you geeks out there: Shaklee Vitalizer is based on 12 clinical studies and the first-ever study done on long-term Shaklee supplement users.  Results were published in Nutrition Journal, and showed that people who took Shaklee supplements had markedly better health than nonsupplement users.

All I know is that they work.  And for me, that’s reason enough!

Skeptical about supplements?  Here are some unnerving statistics:

  • 2 out of 3 adults in the US are overweight or obese…
  • …yet 9 out of 10 Americans fall short of one or more nutrients in their diet
  • Fast food sales are up over 2,000% in the last 30 years
  • Only 2% of us get our recommend seven to nine daily servings of fruits & veggies
  • Not to mention our produce contains 38% less nutrients than it did 50 years ago
  • Stress and aging can increase the body’s need for essential vitamins and minerals

That’s not to say supplements are the answer to everything.  You can’t eat junk and expect vitamins to do the rest.  But, when used as part of a healthy diet & lifestyle, supplements help bridge the gap and give our bodies what we need.

Intrigued?  Learn more here or contact me via the form below!

Do you take supplements?

3 thoughts on “Yes, You Should Take Supplements!

  1. If we eat a healthy diet (plenty of fruits, veggies, water…) do you still recommend supplements? And, I’m not positive what dr’s check when they check labs, but if your vitamin levels all look good would taking supplements be harmful? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

