Green Tea Blueberry Smoothie

If smoothies were an art form, I think I would be the next Picasso.  Um, yeah, I am that awesome…

Before I tell you what this smoothie entails, I thought I’d fill you in on my love of green tea.  About a year ago, I gave up coffee and my love of green tea began.  Not only do I get my caffeine fix, but the stuff contains antioxidants like woah – these antioxidants (aka catechins) help reduce free radical damage and have a number of other health benefits.

I drink it everyday and one day got the idea to start adding it to my daily smoothies.  It adds a nice, subtle flavor, and has zero sugar.  Don’t forget the antioxidant factor either.

I always make sure I have a batch ready – I simply steep about 8 bags in a giant coffee mug and add that concentrated concoction to a large container with more water and I’m done.  Green tea is ready to go in minutes.

Now onto the smoothie recipe you’ve all been waiting for:

Green Tea Blueberry Smoothie

by Healthy Girl and the City

What you need:

  • 1 c green tea (1.5 c if you like it more liquidy)
  • 1/2 c frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/4 tsp coconut oil (you can read more about the benefits here)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1-2 ice cubes
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder (as you should know, I use Shaklee 180 and you can read all about why it’s amazing here)

What to do:

Blend & voila!

another smoothie masterpiece!

another smoothie masterpiece!

Give this recipe a whirl and let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Green Tea Blueberry Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Green Tea & Blueberry Smoothie | Start to be Healthy Now

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Green Tea Smoothie | So Glamorous Darling

Leave a Reply

