Baked Salmon with Strawberry Salsa

I’ve had some requests for more fish recipes on the blog (here you go Anna!), and when I found this recipe, I couldn’t pass it up!  Aside from ordering sushi or enjoying fish at a local eatery, I never make it.  I’ll blame the boyfriend since he doesn’t like it – sorry, Josh!

Today, the weather was nice and I wanted a meal that fit the season.  I do love salmon, and strawberries are basically in season here in NYC – finally – so this really was the perfect recipe to whip up on this not too shabby spring day.

Baked Salmon with Strawberry Salsa & Spinach

by Healthy Girl and the City

Serves 2 (or in this case since the boyfriend won’t eat it – 1 person, twice)

adapted from Whole Foods “Baked Salmon with Spinach and Strawberry Salsa

What you need:

  • 2 3-4 oz salmon filets, skin removed
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 6 large strawberries, diced
  • 1 kiwi, peeled & diced
  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled, seeded & diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded & minced
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 2 cups (aka 1/2 a bag) of baby spinach

What to do:

  • Preheat over to 350 degrees F – place salmon on a baking sheet and sprinkle with lemon zest, bake 15-18 minutes
  • While the fish is cooking, place the strawberries, kiwi, cucumber, jalapeno, mint, garlic & lemon juice in a bowl and toss
  • Steam spinach
  • Divide spinach among plates – put salmon on top and salsa on top of that
  • Enjoy!
love fruity salsa!

love fruity salsa!

delicious, nutritious & so pretty...almost didn't want to eat it...

delicious, nutritious & so pretty…almost didn’t want to eat it…

As you can see, I made lots of salsa and really piled it on.  It was so good I was eating spoonfuls of it while waiting for the salmon to finish baking.  Nothing wrong with a little taste testing if you ask me.

I had to add garlic, couldn’t help myself.  And strawberries pack a nice little nutritional punch!

Health Benefits of Strawberries (thanks wikipedia)

  • Vitamin C – one serving (8 strawberries) has more C than an orange
  • Dietary fiber
  • Antioxidants – in the top 20 fruits for antioxidant capacity
  • Also contains folate, potassium & manganese

Throw some strawberry salsa on top of salmon (protein, omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin D) and spinach (antioxidants, iron, calcium – too many vitamins and minerals to list) and you’ve got yourself one über healthy meal.

This inspired me to make something else involving fish real soon…

4 thoughts on “Baked Salmon with Strawberry Salsa

  1. Oooh great! I had a salmon and strawberry dish several months ago and have been thinking about trying to recreate it at home- now, I can use this!!!🙂

  2. What a delectable food creation. A nice combination of Salmon with strawberries. Thanks for sharing this. I am glad I came across your blog. It is very informative in respects to food and cooking in the kitchen.

    I would like to invite you to view my blog, Fun with Food http://www.savorthefood.com/blog .

    We hope to have you as a reader. Mean time I look for to future post from Healthy Girl and the City.

    Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

Leave a Reply

