Meatless Monday: Quinoa Mac and Cheese with Broccoli

Every once in a while, I really crave comfort food.  Last Thursday was one of those times.  But, I wanted to satisfy my craving without sacrificing nutrition and that isn’t always easy.

A few days before, as luck would have it, my friend Kim shared a recipe for Cheesy Broccoli Quinoa with me.  Of course I had to try it.  And, I wanted to share this recipe with you all sooner because it was almost too good not to, but I thought I’d save it for Meatless Monday (hint hint: make this tonight)…

Quinoa Mac & Cheese with Broccoli

What you need:

  • 1 c quinoa
  • 1 3/4 c veggie broth
  • 2 c broccoli, chopped
  • 1 c reduced fat cheddar, shredded
  • pepper, to taste

What to do:

  • Add quinoa and broth to a large pot and bring to a boil over medium heat
  • Add broccoli
  • Reduce heat and simmer covered until the broth has been absorbed and the quinoa is tender, about 15-20 minutes
  • Stir in the cheese until melted and pepper to taste
it might not look like much, but YUM!

it might not look like much, but YUM!

Probably the most simple version of mac & cheese I’ve ever made and the healthiest by far.

If you’re feeling crazy, totally give my Red Wine Ice Cream a try.  Not a bad dessert option after a little healthy comfort food fix!

What’s your favorite comfort food?

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Quinoa Mac and Cheese with Broccoli

Leave a comment