Red Wine Ice Cream

If you’re a tad confused, don’t be.

Tonight I needed a big, fat glass of red wine.  Last night, it was white… it’s just been one of those weeks.  I also was craving ice cream in a bad way: ice cream + wine = not the best combo, I think it’s the whole alcohol and dairy thing.

Should I mention I was also craving comfort food?

Where was I?  Oh right – I was about to settle for the wine and nix the ice cream when I remembered a recipe I came across months ago from Yonanas.

[You may have remembered me talking about this wonderful Yonanas contraption in my Healthy “Ice Cream” (that isn’t ice cream at all) post.  It basically takes frozen bananas and makes them the consistency of ice cream – amazing, right?  And there are endless combinations…]

Without further ado (and because I’m sure the suspense is killing you):

Dark Chocolate Mixed Berry Shiraz “Ice Cream

by Healthy Girl and the City

Serves 2

Adapted from Yonanas Berry Chocolate Zin

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 frozen bananas
  • 1/4 c dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 c frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 c frozen blueberries
  • 2 frozen ice cubes of red wine

If you have a Yonanas:

  • start by inserting one banana
  • then the chocolate
  • then the berries
  • then the wine
  • then the remaining 1/2 banana
  • stir & enjoy!

If you don’t have a Yonanas, you can throw all the ingredients in your Vitamix or blender!

boozy ice cream, yummy!

boozy ice cream, yummy!

Enjoy with a nice big, fat glass of red wine.

Side note: plan ahead, those wine cubes take a while and it’s hard to be patient

Oh, and that comfort food?  I TOTALLY satisfied that craving with a healthy alternative to a classic favorite.  But, I’ll share that with you next time…

3 thoughts on “Red Wine Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

