Cilantro Brown Rice Veggie Burrito Bowl

I feel like the concept of the burrito bowl is a tad overdone.  But, I do love them, they’re easy to make AND they’re healthy.  Perfect for my blog, no?

Before I tell you all about what went into the making of this recipe, I wanted to give you all a tip about grains.  I find that making a big batch of your favorite whole grain on Sunday is a big help during the week.  That way, when you’re running around and super busy, the idea of cooking doesn’t overwhelm you quite as much.  Last week I went with quinoa & this week I prepped a big batch of brown rice.  I recommend trying to think of some meals you’re going to want in the upcoming week so you make the appropriate grain (ie – quinoa, brown rice, millet, etc) & amount.  Makes your life SO MUCH EASIER and healthier too – you [hopefully] won’t be as tempted to order in!

So, anyways…

When you just want something a little healthier than Chipotle, this burrito bowl is where it’s at!  Did I mention it’s vegetarian and gluten-free?  Try it for yourself and let me know what you think.  (side note: you are actually getting 3 recipes in 1 tonight!)

Cilantro Brown Rice Veggie Burrito Bowl

By Healthy Girl and the City

Serves 1

What you need:

  • Healthy Girl and the City’s Cilantro Brown Rice*
  • 1/2 c black beans, rinsed & drained
  • veggies: 1/2 red bell pepper; 1/4 zucchini; 1/4 summer squash; 1/4 c corn – all cut according to your preference and lightly steamed
  • 1 (or 2) dollops of Healthy Girl and the City’s Homemade Salsa**

Let’s begin with the rice:

*Cilantro Brown Rice by HGATC

What you need:

  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 purple onion, diced
  • 3/4 c brown rice
  • handful of cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1/4 lime

What to do:

  1. Saute the onion in the coconut oil for about 3 minutes (olive oil is fine, but you guys know I’m cuckoo for coconut oil)
  2. Add in your already cooked brown rice, about 1-2 minutes
  3. Stir in the cilantro and add the lime juice last; remove from heat
cilantro brown rice - ready to be burrito bowled!

cilantro brown rice – ready to be burrito bowled!

Moving onto my homemade salsa, which you’ll probably want to make before the rice so it doesn’t get cold:

**Homemade Salsa by HGATC

What you need:

  • 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 purple onion, peeled
  • 1 green pepper, cut into 8 pieces
  • 1 jalapeno, seeds removed and cut into 4 pieces
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 handful of cilantro
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • optional: 1/2 tbsp of your favorite hot sauce – I chose Frank’s Red Hot, obvi

What to do:

  1. Throw all ingredients into a blender or food processor for up to 1 minute – don’t over blend if you like it chunky!
  2. If you used a Vitamix (like I did) then you blend on variable 5 for about 20 seconds, using the tamper to press ingredients into the blades…then variable 3 for about 10 more seconds
  3. OR if you don’t have a blender or food processor, just dice everything by hand and mix together
homemade salsa is the best kind, just sayin'...

homemade salsa is the best kind, just sayin’…

Okay, do you guys have all of that?  Are you ready to put this meal together???

  • Put all rice in a bowl, layer on black beans & steamed veggies and then…the salsa!
whoop, there it is!

whoop, there it is!

SO GOOD.

Facebook Feedback

I recently did a poll on my facebook page about what my readers would like to see on the blog.  One response, was more healthy snack ideas…

Let’s back track for a second here and discuss the salsa.  I seriously could eat this stuff for days and on just about anything.  It’s just so fresh & so unbelievably good I can’t help it.  If you make this for the burrito bowl, you’re going to have tons left over.  While I love chips & salsa as much as anyone else, my healthy alternative is brown rice cakes & salsa.  Add a little guacamole to the mix and you might have the most incredible, healthy snack ever.

BROWN RICE CAKES

yeah, i know - it's packaged...but look at the label, you can't beat that!

yeah, i know – it’s packaged…but look at the label, you can’t beat that!

+

HOMEMADE SALSA

BOOM

BOOM.

=

WOW

What would you like to see more of on my blog?

Also, if you haven’t liked me on fb yet, you should: Healthy Girl and the City on facebook

Leave a Reply

