Strawberry Banana Almond Butter Overnight Oats

Before I kick off tonight’s blog – my thoughts and prayers are with all of the victims in Boston & their families.

Say that 10x fast!

I spent this past weekend completing a 25 hour restorative yoga workshop and it was nothing short of amazing.  I can’t wait to start teaching some classes – let the de-stressing begin!

But until all that de-stressing, I’d like to at least help bring you some easy, healthy recipes for those stressful, too busy days…

Last fall I went through a phase where I was obsessed with overnight oats.  Oddly enough, however, I never blogged about this obsession.  There was something so cool to me about throwing a bunch of stuff in a jar overnight and just busting into it the next day with no cooking involved.

My love of oatmeal + endless combinations = PURE JOY

But then I became obsessed with smoothies one day (still am) & kind of forgot how much I love oatmeal.  Something about the restorative workshop this weekend brought me back to fall – I guess it must be the changing weather and the fact that many of my weekends from this past September to December were spent becoming a yoga teacher!

So Friday evening, after my first night of restorative, I couldn’t help myself and made the overnight oats in a jar version of an almond butter and (strawberry) jelly with banana sandwich.  YUM!

Strawberry Banana Almond Butter Overnight Oats

by healthy girl and the city

What you need:

  • 1/4 c oats
  • 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 2 strawberries, sliced
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • dash of cinnamon
  • drizzle of raw honey, to taste

It’s as easy as throwing everything into a jar, shaking it up & putting it in the fridge overnight.  Make sure to stir the next morning before eating and enjoy!

yummy, no cook oatmeal? bring it!

yummy, no cook oatmeal? bring it!

Saturday morning I grabbed this jar of goodness and brought it off to training with me.  So good and so satisfying – especially after kicking off the day with a slow flow class.  It was just what I needed to get me to lunch!

Perfect breakfast for a busy week – takes about 3 minutes to throw everything together the night before.

It’s official: you have no excuse for skipping breakfast or for grabbing something non-nutritious because you were “stressed” or “in a hurry”.

What’s your favorite recipe for overnight oats?

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Almond Butter Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Banana Mash {vegan, gluten-free, healthy snack} | healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

