Homemade Almond Milk

Yes, I finally made homemade almond milk. I don’t know what took me so long, quite frankly, since I’ve been meaning to do it since last July when I blogged All About Milk(s).

Feel free to check out that post to get some of my thoughts on cow’s, soy & almond milk. As you might have guessed, almond is my favorite. But, I don’t love the ingredients I often find on the carton from the store bought variety.

yucky!

a little too much for me

I was at the store today and instead of buying more almond milk, bought some almonds. It was kind of on a whim, but I was all about making it.

Simply Almond Milk

by healthy girl and the city

recipe adapted from my Vitamix cookbook

What you need:

  • 3 cups of filtered water
  • 1 c of raw almonds
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp agave

What to do:

  • Place all ingredients into blender and blend for 2 minutes, or under desired consistency.
before

before

after

after

ready for fridge - mason jars are the best!

ready for fridge – mason jars are the best!

Obviously you can make it without the cinnamon and agave, but I liked how it gave it a little something.

As far as I’m concerned, the less processed, the better. And now that I know how easy it is to make (and inexpensive), I’ll be forgoing buying almond milk at the store from now on.

Oh, and it’s great with these 4-ingredient cookies I made today for an upcoming guest blog…

YUM.

YUM.

You’ll just have to wait, sorry!

9 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Milk

    • You’re welcome! Let me know what you think… One suggestion is to use a fine mesh strainer to remove sediment, otherwise it’s a tad “pulpy”. I liked it without straining, but it all depends on preference. It was amazing in my smoothie this morning!!!

  1. I may have to try this even though I don’t have a vitamix, just a regular blender. I had no idea so much junk was in storebought almond milk- not surprised though. Thanks for the insight!

  2. Pingback: Almond Milk: The healthy coffee alternative that tastes great | The Decision to Change

  3. Pingback: Ooey, Gooey, Four-Ingredient, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies | Healthy and Fit for Real

  4. I do the same with coconut. It’s a great base for curry night. YUM. I never thought about the cinnamon and agave though. That’s sounds delicious. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

