Veggie Mex Scramble

Like most weeks these days, this was yet another one of those weeks – super busy with almost zero downtime. Um, yeah…no thanks!

But last night I made it a point to make dinner at home. Luckily I had lots of veggies laying around, but wasn’t really in the mood to make quinoa or brown rice. What can I say? I just wasn’t feeling it. Not to mention, I haven’t had eggs in, like, forever.

Side note: I’m writing this post on my new iPad mini, something I’ve never done before because I find it much more difficult than using my laptop. I’m not very tech savvy… Fingers crossed the formatting is acceptable!

Veggie Mex Scramble
by healthy girl and the city

Serves 1

What you need:

– 1 tbsp coconut oil
– 3 eggs – one egg and two egg whites
– 2 cloves garlic, pressed
– 1/4 c chopped onion
– 1/2 red pepper, chopped
– 3 kale leaves, ripped into kale chip proportions
– 5 cherry tomatoes, halved
– pepper, to taste
– avocado, optional
– salsa, optional

What to do:

– prepare eggs – mix whole egg with two eggs whites, ~1 tbsp water & pepper, to taste; put aside
– using coconut oil, sauté garlic and all veggies except cherry tomatoes… once veggies are to your liking, add cherry tomatoes and egg scramble mixture
– scramble and serve!

20130412-110041.jpg

Yummy, easy, veggie loaded – what’s better than that? I also added a little avocado and a dollop of salsa because I love a little Mexican flair.

You could sub spinach for the kale if you prefer and drained & rinsed black beans would’ve been a nice addition as well.

Happy Friday!

One thought on “Veggie Mex Scramble

Leave a Reply

