Meatless Monday: Garbage Quinoa

I’m trying to kick up my blog a notch.  As you might have noticed, my posts have been few and far between these days.  So, because I want to keep you all entertained (& healthy), I’m going to make a concerted effort to get my blog on more often.

You’re welcome in advance!

One of my favorite types of posts falls within the Meatless Monday category – I’m a huge advocate and I think you all need to take the pledge if you haven’t already.  You can read all about the movement here.

But, as I was saying – I’ve been trying to blog more frequently.  And tonight I was determined to post, especially given it was Meatless Monday and all.  However, I didn’t have time/didn’t really feel like going to the grocery store which caused a slight dilemma.

As far as cooking goes, I’m big into planning meals.  I really enjoy finding recipes to try, putting together shopping lists, going to the store… you get the idea.

And since tonight none of the above was happening, I had to get creative.  I haven’t been to the store in days and didn’t know where to begin.  I started with the fridge, which is where I found some quinoa (only 1/2 c dry mind you), a red pepper, a zucchini, some kale, lemon & tahini…  Luckily I had some garlic lying around too because, let’s face it – what’s a recipe without a little garlic?

Garbage Quinoa

by healthy girl and the city

What you need:

  • 1/2 c quinoa prepared
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 zucchini
  • 4-5 kale leaves
  • 5 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1/2 lemon
  • pepper, to taste

While the quinoa was simmering, I steamed my veggies (I chopped them first).  Once they were both done, I literally just threw the quinoa and veggies in a big bowl and added the garlic, tahini, lemon and pepper.  Done!  Yes, really.

garbage quinoa!

garbage quinoa!

garbage quinoa take 2, just because...

garbage quinoa take 2, just because…

I really outdid myself with this concoction – so easy and so good!  Maybe I should leave cooking to fate more often.

Leave a Reply

