Spring Greening

Spring is here!  Well, sort of.

I’m going to embrace the fact that it’s been slightly warmer-ish the last few days here in NYC.  This “past” winter’s weather was dreadful and for the first time ever I entertained the idea of moving to a warmer climate!  To say I’m ready for nice weather is an understatement.

So think back to, like, August when I went on my all things pumpkin binge.  Kind of like I craved pumpkin before fall officially kicked in, I’ve noticed myself starting to crave raw vs steamed veggies and less warming foods.  I guess that’s why I’ve been wanting to bust out my juicer that’s been sitting in its box for months.  But, until I’m ready to start cleaning fruit & veggie pulp/deal with stickiness, I think my Vitamix will do just fine.  Besides, I like a little more substance at breakfast vs juice alone.

Drum roll please…

“Spring Greening” Detox Smoothie
by healthy girl and the city

What you’ll need:

  • 1 c coconut water
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 2-3 kale leaves
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 4-5 mint leaves
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder (#shaklee180)

Why these ingredients:

  • coconut water – natural energy drink, high in potassium and minerals
  • spinach – rich in antioxidants, as well as, vitamins B, C, E & K and magnesium, folate, iron, calcium, potassium, folic acid, protein and omega-3…um yeah, spinach is pretty awesome!
  • kale – high in beta carotene, vitamins C & K and rich in calcium
  • celery – considered a “negative calorie food”; your body actually burns more calories digesting it than it takes in
  • mint – rich in manganese, vitamins A, B & C, iron potassium and calcium; mint also has been known to benefit the digestive system
  • lemon – helps boost immunity and cleanses your system
give your body the spring greening it deserves!

give your body the spring greening it deserves!

This is a great way to start your day – chock full of veggies, vitamins & minerals.  Not to mention, the protein helps keep you full til lunch.

And, on that note, I’m off to yoga!

Do you have a favorite green smoothie recipe? Do tell!

Leave a Reply

