Meatless Monday: Smoothie Time!

Do you ever have one of those nights where you come home and the last thing you want to do is cook?  That’s how I was feeling tonight.

For starters, I’m never Miss Sunshine the Monday after Daylight Savings.  Don’t get me wrong, I love that it was still light out when I left work today, but waking up an hour “early” (that’s how I think about it in my head) = no bueno.  My day started where all I wanted to do was stay in bed – it was nice & dark out and I was, well, comfy.  Somehow I managed to get to work on time though.

Today was one of those days where I couldn’t wait til 5pm.  Okay, who am I kidding?  That’s me EVERYDAY.  But I was hitting up a new-found yoga class here in the city that I thoroughly enjoy because it’s just so different from any other class I’ve ever been to.  Suffice it to say that yoga was amazing and I’m definitely going to be sore tomorrow (and the next day) – I can feel it already.  This class just might be my new Monday night “thing”!

After enjoying myself for 90+ minutes, I had to trek home and didn’t walk through the door til 8:30ish.  That’s late for me.  AND the cleaning lady is coming tomorrow, which means I had to clean (counter-intuitive, I know).  Once I did that, I showered and that’s when it hit me: I don’t feel like cooking dinner.  Like, AT ALL.

Most New Yorkers would take advantage of a little app called Seamless, but let’s just say I wasn’t the epitome of health this past weekend.  Back on track, I go…

After I cancelled out the idea of ordering in, that’s what it hit me – smoothie time…  Lame!  But, you had to know this was coming given the title of this post.  Sorry to disappoint, but without further ado, I bring you:

Neapolitan, Smoothie Style

by healthy girl and the city

  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 c strawberries
  • 1 tbsp chia
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder with maca (feel free to sub unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 2 scoops of your favorite vanilla protein powder (mine, of course, is Shaklee)
  • 1.5 c unsweetened almond milk – it was still pretty thick, so add a little more if you like it on the thinner side
  • ~2 ice cubes – optional
vanilla/choc/strawberry - what could be better?!

vanilla/choc/strawberry – what could be better?!

Growing up, Neapolitan ice cream was my favorite!  I love all the flavors in this – vanilla, chocolate, strawberry…plus a little banana action.  Super filling  and you don’t even notice that there’s spinach in the mix!  Not bad for a quickie Meatless Monday dinner.

What’s your favorite quickie dinner when you don’t feel like getting your cook on?

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Smoothie Time!

Leave a Reply

