BEWARE: Calorie Counts

I haven’t blogged in response to an article in a while.  And I didn’t really feel like cooking tonight (gasp!), so I figured this was a great opportunity to mix it up a bit.  Shout out to my friend Kait for sending this to me yesterday – thanks!

The article I’m about to share with you may or may not come as a surprise…that calorie counts are often inaccurate.  Say whaaaaaaaaaat?!

I”m not sure what it’s like in other parts of the country, but here in NYC chain restaurants need to post calorie counts.  One would assume that like, we should know how many calories we’re consuming on a daily basis when eating out then, right?  Wrong!  Well, at least according to this article, Calorie Counts: Fatally Flawed, Or Our Best Defense Against Pudge by Nancy Shute.  It’s an interesting read – enjoy & watch the video because that’s the best part.  Bring on the Subway sandwiches?  You won’t get that unless you watch, so just do it already!

My take:  I’m not surprised at all.  For starters, a calorie isn’t a calorie.  I blogged about this back in July – All Calories Are Definitely Not Created Equal.  My advice – if a restaurant has calorie counts, use them as a guideline.  It’s kind of scary how off/unreliable they can be!  When you can, cook at home and eat whole, unprocessed foods as much as possible.  Got it?  Good.

Thoughts?  Please share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “BEWARE: Calorie Counts

  1. Pingback: BEWARE: Calorie Counts | SCSU Campus Rec

Leave a Reply

