Can’t Get Enough Quinoa #meatlessmonday

Last week came and went without a post, but was super fun despite how insanely busy I was.  Among the many plans I had and things I had to do, the highlight was definitely the Urban Detox event, where we got down and dirty about food based detoxing…

get your detox on!

get your detox on!

Can I also just touch upon the fact that I think I’m the only person out there that can’t manage to take cute selfies?  Just ain’t gonna happen no matter how hard I try.

even instagram doesn't help!

even instagram doesn’t help!

Okay, I’m over it.  Maybe one day I’ll master the art of the selfie, just not today.

On a more serious note, I hope everyone is okay following the blizzard action we had this past weekend.  NYC didn’t have it so bad, but I know Massachusetts was hit pretty hard and there are a lot of people still without power.  Let’s hope this doesn’t last long!

So aside from having a low-key night with the boyfriend this past Friday (snow induced), I am super happy to announce that I got busy on Saturday and Sunday and have finally completed my make-up hours for my 200-hr yoga teacher training!!!  You don’t even know how excited I am, but at the same time strangely scared about trying to find teaching jobs in the great city of New York where there are probably way more yoga teachers than classes to teach.  But, I’m getting ahead of myself.  Besides, the glass is always half full, right?

Enough about events, snow & yoga – let’s talk about what I whipped up for dinner tonight…

Meatless Monday

I think Meatless Monday posts might be my favorite – it’s so much fun finding new, meatless recipes to try.  Today, I kept it simple and went with Quinoa with Black Beans from skinnyms.com.  I found the recipe while perusing my Mom’s “Health and Wellness” board on Pinterest (thanks Mom!!!).

Quinoa with Black Beans
vegetarian & gluten-free

I didn’t really deviate from the recipe aside from adding a little extra garlic (duh!), doubling the crushed red pepper and adding about one cup of spinach.  I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and also ended up needing to cook this for 25-30 minutes.

pre-simmer

pre-simmer

YUM.

YUM.

This was super easy to throw together.  Would probably be even better with a little diced avocado on top, but was yummy as is.  It kind of reminded me of a cross between the Vegan Quinoa Mexican Soup & Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew of blogs past.

What’s your favorite #meatlessmonday recipe?  I’d love you to share in the comments below!  And while you’re at it, please “like” Healthy Girl and the City’s facebook page – you know you want to…

Leave a Reply

