Meatless Monday: Cauliflower and Chickpea Stew with Couscous!

This is blog #50 AND the first blog I attempted from my iPad!  (I got about 1/3 done and realized I didn’t know how to underline or insert bullet points!  So, I’m finishing this morning.)

Tonight (aka last night), I bring you Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew with Couscous, wishing that I hadn’t left my computer at my boyfriend’s apartment.  But before I begin, I’d like to give a quick shout out to Meatless Monday for the great idea!!!

Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew with Brown Rice Couscous

Adapted from Marcus Samuelsson

What you need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  •  1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic (pressed or diced)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  •  1/2 tsp chili powder
  • salt & pepper
  • 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 15 oz can chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans
  •  1 head cauliflower, cored and cut into small florets
  • 6 oz package baby spinach
  • 1 c brown rice couscous

What to do:

  • Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until it starts to soften, 4 to 5 minutes.
  • Add the cumin, chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and cook, stirring, until fragrant, 1 minute.
  • Add the tomatoes and their liquid, chickpeas, cauliflower, and 3/4 c water and bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat and simmer until the vegetables are tender and the liquid has slightly thickened, 15 to 20 minutes.
  • Fold in the spinach and cook until just wilted, 1 to 2 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, place the couscous in a large bowl.  Add 1 cup of hot tap water, cover, and let sit for 5 minutes.  Fluff with a fork & serve with the stew.
yum!

yum!

there's the couscous...you knew it was in there somewhere...

there’s the couscous…you knew it was in there somewhere…

The verdict:  SO GOOD!  I think I literally had about 3 cups of it with about 1/2 c couscous.  I added some sriracha for a little kick – if you like it spicy, I highly recommend that option.

On a side note:  the Holidays

I can’t believe Christmas is a week from today!  I have yet another holiday party tonight, am going to see How the Grinch Stole Christmas tomorrow, then my little sister arrives Thursday to visit for a few days.  Sunday, we’re road tripping it to Massachusetts with the boyfriend for a few days of hectic holiday fun.

What is everyone up to for the holidays?  More importantly, what are some of your favorite holiday foods?

8 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Cauliflower and Chickpea Stew with Couscous!

  1. Pingback: Spinach in my Couscous, No, Couscous in my Spinach! – slimegreen

  2. Pingback: Can’t Get Enough Quinoa #meatlessmonday « healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

