Meatless Monday: Cream of Zucchini Soup

I know what you might be thinking, “cream of…” at the beginning of anything can’t be healthy.  That’s where you are wrong; at least in this case.

I’ve had this recipe in the queue for a while, but something more substantial and hearty always trumped it.

So, tonight, I bring you:

Cream of Zucchini Soup

adapted from skinnytaste.com

  • 1 red onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 large zucchini
  • 32 oz veggie broth (this is Meatless Monday after all)
  • 4 leaves of kale
  • 3 tbsp 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp of sriracha
  • salt & pepper to taste

First, I diced up the onion, garlic and zucchini and let it come to a boil in the veggie broth.  Then, I added the kale & let it simmer on low for about 20 minutes.  After letting it cool for a bit, I threw it all in the blender, along with the Greek yogurt and sriracha.

blah.

The verdict?  It was simply okay.  I would have liked it a tad thicker, so next time would prob throw another zucchini into the mix.  I’m also not someone who adds salt to anything, but this was an exception.  It wasn’t bad for so few calories though, and you can have some fun with this one as far as spices go.

I apologize for my uninspired tone tonight, but I think the bland soup has rubbed off on me.

Luckily I was busy in the kitchen tonight, and also made something extremely yummy that I’m excited to share with you.  Unfortunately, I’m saving it til tomorrow for a little pre-Thanksgiving blog – I hope you’re ready.  I’m salivating just thinking about it…

What’s your favorite spice and/or condiment to use in soup?  Please share because I have lots leftover and will be eating it for lunch over the next couple days…

Leave a Reply

