November – Karma Wednesdays, Week One

What the heck is a Karma Wednesday?

A little background:

I’m currently in a 200-hour yoga teacher training program, and one of my required assignments is a little something called the Karma Yoga Project (KYP).  Most of you are  probably familiar with the concept of karma, or an action that leads to a cause & effect.  As part of my training, I had to come up with an idea to give my time toward enriching/helping others; basically perform a selfless service of some kind.  After much brainstorming – do I donate clothes to the homeless, volunteer at a soup kitchen, clean up litter in my neighborhood one day each week – I decided that for the month of November, I would try a new selfless service each week, and donate a post every Wednesday to telling my readers all about it (hopefully inspiring you in the process)…

KYP, Week One:  Donating to Help Hurricane Sandy Victims

Given that the tri-state area recently suffered significantly as a result of Hurricane Sandy, there is no better way to kick of KYP than to donate to the disaster relief efforts.  I’m going to leave this one up to you since not all of you live nearby; here are a few great options:

  • Make a financial donation to the American Red Cross
  • Through the Met Council you can donate money, volunteer your time or drop off supplies, like water, toiletries or new coats (there are drop off centers on 171 Lexington Ave, 315 West 61st St and 351 East 61st here in Manhattan)
  • The Food Bank for New York City is accepting donations and looking for volunteers
  • Help restore the Jersey Shore by donating to architecture for humanity
  • What about the animals?  The ASPCA is also accepting monetary donations
  • Martha’s Vineyard even has an island coat & blanket drive (for my readers on the Cape)
  • For a few more ideas, please check out this recent article from the Huffington Post

I was hoping to volunteer my time, but my schedule has made that tough.  Therefore, I will be making a monetary donation to both the American Red Cross & ASPCA.

I lost power for just under a week, and had no heat (ironically after the power came back on).  There are those out there who no longer have homes or have lost loved ones.  I am very lucky…

Do you have any suggestions on how to help the victims of Hurricane Sandy?  Have you made a donation of any kind to the relief efforts?  Please share.

an image from last week in midtown east

4 thoughts on “November – Karma Wednesdays, Week One

Leave a Reply

