Meatless Monday: Vegan Chili Recipe with Butternut Squash & Kale

Happy Election Day!  This isn’t a political blog as you well know, but I figured I’d remind everyone to get out there and vote today.

I’d also like to welcome myself back into the blogosphere; it was rough last week here in NYC.  My boyfriend got his power back last Friday night (I wasn’t so lucky), and on Saturday night, when I finally thought it was safe to go shopping:

i kid you not – produce aisle was barren

At least the power was back?  I was trying to look at the bright side, but ordering in was getting old.

I am happy to report, that my local grocery store was back up and running last night; I can’t say the same for my apartment.  How can I have heat when I don’t have power, but when I get the power back, not have heat?  It was freezing.  I had to make something that would warm me up, so Vegan Butternut Squash Chili with Kale it was.  (I had to deviate from my pumpkin obsession to another fall favorite, butternut squash.)

Before I could get to cooking, I had to empty out the freezer and fridge.  Wasting food is the worst, and it was pretty gross.  I won’t get into specifics, but did you know that kale turns yellow?  Well, now you do!  Did I mention it was also freezing?

Butternut Squash Chili with Kale

For those of you unfamiliar with the nutritional/overall awesomeness of kale, please refer to my past post, Kale Chips!   You’ll get a quick lesson on kale (in addition to a recipe for kale chips, as you can infer from the post’s title).

This chili was a super easy recipe, and I actually didn’t tweak it at all; I think that might be a first.  Although I will note that for the three cans of beans, I went with one can of black & two kidney.

the incredible, edible…kale – before i chopped it up

vegan chili, perfectly simmered

is that a pumpkin in the background? sure is!

Before eating, I decided I wanted a glass of wine too…  I haven’t put the candles away yet; you never know.

chili/red wine/remnants of last week’s power outage

The chili really hit the spot.  And the amount of spices was perfect – it was far from bland and had a little kick!  I threw my Frank’s Red Hot away in the fridge cleaning (one of my go-to chili condiments), but didn’t even need it for this one.

What are some of your favorite recipes involving kale?

8 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Vegan Chili Recipe with Butternut Squash & Kale

  1. Pingback: Three Bean Chili Recipe » Trial VegetarianTrial Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

