NYC in the Dark

Today’s blog post is a bit different than usual.

On the upside, it is Thursday.  And the markets were closed Monday & Tuesday.  That means I had two days off, a rarity in the world of finance.

Monday was glorious.  I got so much work done (for school, not work work) and even did some laundry (the boyfriend helped).  Then it happened, around 8:30 pm, we lost power downtown.

when the power first went out – monday night

I guess I was being naive, but I’m a skeptic, especially after Irene last year.  Even though it was super windy, and conditions were far from ideal, I didn’t think we’d lose power.  Silly, silly me.  Oh, and at my boyfriend’s apartment, no power = no water.

Needless to say we slept in Tuesday morning, listened to Mayor Bloomberg on a battery-powered radio for a bit, then made the trek by foot from the East Village up to midtown.  We needed to charge our electronics after all, and our office buildings were open/had power.  On the way up we noticed bodegas in darkness with lines out the door.  We also noticed lots of people eating pizza; gas ovens apparently come in handy in times like these.  Cabs were near impossible to find and no public transit was available.  Below 40th Street, street lights weren’t working.  CHAOS.

We’ve been spending the last two nights (which might as well be an eternity) at my apartment.  My apartment also has no power, but does have running water.  It’s also on the cusp of where the power ends – the buildings both next to me AND across the street have power.  Everything else is in the dark.

looking down my avenue

another pic from the neighborhood

I usually have some fun with Instagram for my blog pictures, but I figured I’d post these au naturel (photo credit goes to the boyfriend).

Not surprisingly, I’m a bit out of sorts, and my posts have been non-existent as a result.  Fingers crossed the power comes back on soon!  I just have to remember to smile in the meantime.

4 thoughts on “NYC in the Dark

  1. First and most importantly, I am sorry you are dealing with this, but am also glad that you and yours are okay. Second, the photographs are wonderful, in a very haunting and eerie way. Thank you for sharing, and I hope that everything is back to running conditions asap.

Leave a Reply

