Cuckoo for Coconut Oil!

Happy Friday! 

In a mere 24 hours, I will be en route to Mexico with the boyfriend (wicked excited)!!!  Sun, sand, relaxation…  I guess I’m feeling a little summery/tropical as a result; I couldn’t help but concoct a post on my favorite oil, coconut!  I’m been meaning to throw something together on this for a while, so let’s get to it.

Coconut oil kinda rocks.  It’s so versatile, I almost don’t even know where to begin.  You can cook with it, eat it, use it on your skin & in your hair…

Coconut oil is a saturated fat, but a healthy one – it’s a medium chain triglyceride (MCT) (vs. animal saturated fat that is a long chain triglyceride).  MCT’s digest quickly, which produce energy and stimulate the metabolism.  Do I got your attention yet?  Read on…

It was in the 40’s this week in the mornings; to say I’ve been pretty darn cold would be an understatement.  My skin and lips are getting dry and chapped already, gross.  I don’t know about you, but I vehemently dislike dry skin and everything else that cold weather brings.  Which, brings us to:

Coconut Oil & Its Many Uses  (tip:  a little goes a long way)
  • Moisturizer – personally, I prefer it as more of an overnight moisturizer, something I can rinse off in the morning.  Just apply a little before bed and massage into the skin.
  • Hair treatment – take a little (stress that, a little) and work it through you hair, concentrating on the ends.  I suggest using a shower cap if you intend to keep it in overnight.
  • Cooking – you can use it in place of butter and other oils when you need to grease a pan, etc.  It’s a super stable oil to cook with & doesn’t easily turn into trans fatty acids when hot.  I use it all the time when making eggs or in place of olive oil when sauteing veggies.
  • Baking – if a recipe calls for 2 tbsp of butter, replace with 2 tbsp coconut oil…it’s an even trade!  Oh, and did I mention it’s vegan and gluten-free?!  BOOM.
  • Blending – yes, blending!  I throw the occasional tbsp into my smoothies.

Coconut Oil & Its Many Potential Health Benefits(you can read more on Shape.com)

  • Weight loss – in terms of metabolism, coconut oil is metabolized differently than fats from other oils (it’s an MCT don’t forget)
  • It can help raise your good cholesterol (aka HDL) – it’s a healthy saturated fat
  • Immune system booster – this oil has lots of antifungal and antiviral properties

I figured I’d include this little InfoGraphic from NaturalNews for your viewing pleasure:

thanks NaturalNews.com!

For some additional reading, you can check out Organic authority.

What are some of your favorite uses for coconut oil?

Vacation time!

10 thoughts on “Cuckoo for Coconut Oil!

  1. ❤ this and love coconut oil! Today I made delicious raw fudge with coconut manna, bananas & cocoa! I rubbed a handful of coconut oil on my legs as well. Nothing smells better or more luxurious!

  2. Thank you so much for the into!😀 I will have to pick me up some!! There are many occasions I need just a bit of butter; I’m going to have to try coconut oil in its place. I didn’t know anything about it. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Cilantro Brown Rice Veggie Burrito Bowl | healthygirlandthecity

  4. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Chip Coconut Oatmeal Cookies with Coconut Oil | healthygirlandthecity

  5. Pingback: What is Oil Pulling? (and yes, you should do it!) | healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

