Meatless Monday: Ratatouille Lasagna

Happy Tuesday!

I hope all of you have taken the Meatless Monday pledge by now (if not, click here).  You can read a little more about it in one of my prior posts, My Meatless Monday Pledge & Italian Stir Fry, if you feel so inclined.

There are so many great meat-free recipes out there, that come Monday, I find it very hard to choose.  Last night, after much consideration, I went with a recipe I found on the Integrative Nutrition Blog, Ratatouille Lasagna.  Why?  Because I wanted something healthy and easy and because it was cold out (like really cold) and I was loving the whole “lasagna” concept.

You read that right.  It was cold out.  My apartment was freezing, which entailed wearing slippers and a hoodie around all night, followed by sleeping with two blankets.  As much as I’m trying to embrace fall (and enjoying all things pumpkin & apple in the process), I’m really looking forward to my upcoming trip to Mexico, sunshine and 80 degree weather.  This recent cold, rainy weather in NYC isn’t my favorite.

countdown to vacation:  t minus four days

But, enough about me and my vacation already…

Ratatouille Lasagna

You think I tweaked it?  OF COURSE I DID!

My tweaks:

  • I used two peppers – one green, one red
  • 1 eggplant (but it was on the smaller side)
  • I only needed 3 zucchini
  • I added garlic because what’s lasagna without lots and lots of garlic?
  • A little extra tomato sauce because I like it saucy!

hot mess

hot mess & ricotta

pre-bake

post-bake with a little zucchini on top

almost ready to eat…

I tried to cut it a little nicer for the photos, but no such luck.  And, I was definitely adding a little more oomph before indulging…

good to go – a little extra sauce and a little sriracha

It was really good!  I didn’t miss the pasta at all; this was right up my alley given my obsession with veggies.  You can never have too many, in my opinion.

What are some of your favorite meat-free meals?  Do tell!

8 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Ratatouille Lasagna

  1. Well, made the recipe but wanted to give it some additional “substance,” so for the top layer only I decided to add ground pork (with the tomoto sauce) and a little shredded mazarella as well…very good although I would recommend slicing the zucchini as thinly as possible! Thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

