Pumpkin Chili in the Rain AND an Exciting Announcement!

Good morning!  Is it really only Wednesday and is it really already October?!

I’ve been bringing up “fall” in my posts for over a month now, and I’m not ready to stop just yet.  And, no, I’m not done with my pumpkin kick yet either…

About a month ago when I was raving about and cooking up all things pumpkin, my friend Mike suggested I make pumpkin chili.  What a great idea!  However, though I was ready for the fall, and for pumpkin, it was still technically summer and I wasn’t yet craving chili.  But yesterday was a totally different story – it was rainy, it was cooler, it was time to make chili!

I love chili.  It’s actually one of the better things I make.  I’ll be honest – I’ve never deviated from my recipe (which is really my mom’s recipe, but I pretend it’s my own).  However, in my recent pinning I came across a pretty great website, skinnytaste.com, which is where I found this pretty great recipe:  Crock Pot Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili.

Pumpkin Chili

Of course I tweaked it:

  • I didn’t use olive oil (what can I say other than I have to get myself in the bikini on a beach next week…)
  • I used purple onion
  • Double the garlic
  • Double the chili powder – the spicier, the better
  • No oregano, didn’t have any
  • I didn’t use the navy beans because my grocery store didn’t have them (shocker!)…but I like kidney beans in my chili, so was happy to make the substitution
  • Two cans of chopped green chiles
  • I added a can of diced jalapenos because chili isn’t chili without them!
  • Sour cream?  Who needs it when you have goat cheese?!  But, more on that to come…
  • Oh, and I was crock pot-less – I keep the crock pot at my boyfriend’s apartment, so I had to use my big pot instead; simmered on low for about 90 minutes once everything was good to go

Who needs to go trek all the way to New England for foliage and true feel of fall, when you can get it in a bowl?  In New York City no less!

pumpkin chili in simmer mode

90 minutes later…

pumpkin chili w goat cheese (aka fall in a bowl)

While it was on the stove, I was thinking of a sour cream alternative when it hit me:  goat cheese!  I threw on a heaping tablespoon and was more than happy with the outcome.  Pumpkin + goat cheese = amazing.

This chili was pretty awesome as far as chilis go & healthy to boot (less than 190 calories per cup) – if you’re in the mood for a (healthy) warming fall meal, I highly recommend this.

And thank you, Mike – after about 12 years of friendship, you finally brought something to the table (literally).

Let’s not forget about my exciting announcement!

Announcement

Very exciting news!  Like, so exciting that I don’t think I can use the word “exciting” enough to describe it, but I’ll try…

I am able to start seeing clients very soon!  I don’t want to market myself on this blog too much (or maybe I do), but please let me know if you, or anyone you know, might be interested in working with me on their nutrition/health goals.

How to begin?  It’s easy and free…

  • Start off by visiting my website (still a work in progress, no judging!):  Healthy Girl and the City
  • There’s a tab on the top, “Connect”, where you can submit a form for a “Free Consultation”
  • Once you do this, I’ll be in touch – but basically, we’ll set up a time to discuss some of your main health concerns, and how we can work together to help you achieve your goals
  • From there, it’s up to you whether or not you’d like to become a client
  • Is health coaching right for you?  You won’t know until you try, so do it up!

I hope to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chili in the Rain AND an Exciting Announcement!

Leave a Reply

