Homemade Greek Yogurt

As I get deeper into my training at IIN (Institute for Integrative Nutrition), I feel more and more compelled to cook at home and make foods homemade vs. buying them at the store.  Sometimes this gets to be a bit much, but I do it when I can.  One such item on my “to make” list is ketchup.  I love Heinz, so I’m a tad scared about this endeavor.  However, as I’m sure you inferred from the title, this is not a post about  homemade ketchup (sorry all you ketchup lovers out there), but about homemade yogurt…

Which brings me to my new yogurt maker, EasiYo!  I had never heard of this product until super recently, but that’s probably because it’s a New Zealand thing.  I debated getting one for like 24 hours before I pulled the trigger; sincerest apologies Chobani.

The Pros of Homemade Yogurt

Many yogurts in the US have pectin or gelatin added – I’ll pass on additives, thanks.

Homemade Greek Yogurt

I made my first batch last night, and checked it out/tasted it this morning because I couldn’t resist.  I went with the low-fat Greek variety because I typically like to add various combinations of things to my yogurt (berries, honey, flax, granola, jam – the list goes on and on…), and because Greek yogurt is the best and most versatile yogurt around!

the base

yogurt jar filled with greek yogurt mix & water before it goes in the yogurt maker

incubating overnight

homemade yogurt – so much better than store-bought

I’m really looking forward to having some tonight, maybe with a little homemade granola & raw honey

A few additional notes:  the yogurt maker itself is inexpensive, and though it might seem like the satchels are pricey, I think you get a lot more yogurt for your money over buying it (not to mention, less packaging!).  One more thing – it took about a month to arrive, so plan accordingly.  I’m very happy thus far in that it was easy to make, and I love love love the idea of fresher, better for you, yogurt!

*UPDATE* (09/26/12)

I went home last night and tested out the homemade yogurt a bit more:  I have no complaints aside from the fact that the texture is a bit more like plain yogurt vs. Greek; it’s just not quite as thick/Greek yogurt-y (the roommate concurs).  That being said, I’m still psyched I can make yogurt at home and this stuff keeps for up to two weeks in the fridge!

Having some right now with a little homemade granola, truvia, cinnamon & chia before I head out for some lunch hour Pilates!

homemade yogurt w all the fixins

What are your favorite foods to make at home?

7 thoughts on “Homemade Greek Yogurt

  1. Fantastic! I am actually from New Zealand, and as my family was on a tight budget when I was growing up, my Mum used to make this yoghurt for our school lunches! I always used to feel ripped off, as my friends had fancy store-bought treats in their lunchboxes, but it’s actually very good- I should get into making it again for myself🙂

Leave a Reply

