Chickpea…Cookies?!

Yes, you read that right. Tonight, after nine hours of yoga teacher training, I decided to make chocolate chip cookies that were made primarily of mashed chickpeas! You amazed yet? Because you totally should be.

Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yet another recipe from Ambitious Kitchen. No flour, oil or eggs needed for this one; you don’t even need any fancy kitchen appliances – though be warned, after attempting to perfect my downward dog and countless other asanas today, mashing the chickpeas by hand was a bit tiring.

My tweaks:

  • I used an extra tsp of vanilla, just ’cause
  • Nut butter of choice: almond

chickpea cookie dough, in the raw

Looks yummy, doesn’t it? I simply spooned the dough onto the greased cookie tray, making sure to flatten them as I went (these cookies don’t change shape in the oven):

chickpea cookies: before

20 minutes later:

chickpea cookies: after

My take on a few important cookie aspects:

  • The batter: mashed bean texture (duh!), but good!
  • The smell: while in the oven, they sure smelled like chocolate chip cookies
  • The cookie: definitely satisfied my sweet craving . I was able to stop after one, which I’m going to attribute to the texture – no complaints, I’ll take a guilt-free cookie any day!

I can’t wait until my boyfriend gets back from visiting his alma mater so I can force him to try one of these (insert devious laugh here).

Next up: black bean brownies. Sorry, but you’ll just have to wait patiently until I get around to those.

Nine more hours of yoga tomorrow – can’t wait!

Namaste.

11 thoughts on “Chickpea…Cookies?!

  1. Ahhhh I’ve seen these bean dessert recipes everywhere but I haven’t particularly liked the taste of them. I wish I did.😦 Did they taste like beans at all? They look like they are delicious. I just posted a chocolate chip cookie recipe today too, how funny!🙂

    • They didn’t really taste like beans, but the texture was beany (of course)…I found them to be better when I kept them refrigerated – they held their shape and tasted better that way believe it or not. Definitely worth a try at some point! I keep meaning to try black bean brownies, which will be my next bean dessert recipe attempt. I’ll have to stop by and check out your cookie recipe!

  2. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Chip Chickpea Blondies with Sea Salt | healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

