Kale Chips!

Happy Hump Day!

Since I’ve been trying to incorporate green juice into my life, I realize that sometimes I have lots of veggies leftover; usually lots and lots of kale

I have to admit that up until a few months ago, I never ate the stuff; no particular reason why.  But I’ve come to really enjoy kale, not only for its nutritional value, but also because I love how versatile it is.

A Lesson:  Kale (thanks Wikipedia)

  • High in beta carotene
  • Excellent source of vitamins A, C & K
  • Rich in lutein (think: eye health)
  • High in Calcium
  • Contains potent anti-cancer properties, sulforaphane to be precise
  • Good source of carotenoids (antioxidants)
  • When eaten regularly it can not only protect against cancer, but also lower cholesterol

And, as I mentioned, don’t forget the versatility factor!  You can eat it raw, steam it, make salads with it, throw it into pastas, add to soups, make kale chips…

Kale Chips

I used an easy recipe I found awhile ago from Women’s Health.  I don’t know why I haven’t made these before.

What you need:

Yes, it’s that easy.  I didn’t have a pastry brush handy, so I just drizzled on the EVOO before sprinkling with salt & pepper.  I overcooked the chips a little (no judging!), but they still tasted really good.

kale w evoo, salt & pepper: before

after

in container / ready to eat!

I baked mine for about 32 minutes; make sure you keep an eye on them though – that was clearly too long.

What are you waiting for?  Get out there and buy some kale!  Oh, and be sure to share anything kale related you’d like in the comments below…

8 thoughts on “Kale Chips!

  1. Kale is amazing and kale chips are so easy to make and so so tasty! People at work always ask me where to buy them🙂 I also sprinkle them with nutritional yeast, to give a cheese taste and even more nutritional value! Available at fairways and whole foods of course! http://www.bulkfoods.com/yeast.htm
    Enjoy!!!

  2. I was awed when i saw this post here, cos just 2 days back I made this. It’s the same with me…..Even I did it for the 1st time, It was a bit over cooked and hmph…..tad more of salt. So I ended up eating it with plain rice to subside the salti-ness.

  3. Pingback: Italian Kale Chips « Inspire & Indulge

  4. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Vegan Chili Recipe with Butternut Squash & Kale « healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

