Stuffed Peppers, Homemade Hummus & Greek Yogurt Parfait

I can’t believe it’s only Tuesday.  Friday night I got a cold (annoying, right?) and proceeded to lay on my boyfriend’s couch (almost) all weekend for a Breaking Bad Marathon.  We’re almost done with Season 4!

This post is going to be a tad all over the place.  Being sick and trying to think straight are not my forte.

Sunday

My friend Anna has recently been doing some “healthy cooking at home”, and upon seeing a picture of recently made stuffed peppers my boyfriend got hungry.  Sunday night, we got our cook on…

stuffed peppers

Stuffed Peppers

  • 3 yellow peppers, halved
  • 1 lb lean ground turkey (we went with 99%)
  • red onion, diced
  • ~10 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 cups of brown rice, cooked
  • 1 jar salsa of your choice
  • 1 bag of reduced fat cheese (we went with a taco blend)

Sound easy enough yet?  Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  You basically brown the turkey meat with the onion and tomatoes.  At this point you should be making your brown rice…  Once the meat, etc is done, you add the brown rice, the salsa and about half the bag of cheese.  Stuff the peppers (at this point you’ve already cut them in half and taken out the icky middle), and put in the oven for about 35 minutes.  Once the time is up, put the remaining cheese on top and place back in the oven for 10 minutes.  Done!

We served ours with a little side salad.

Monday (prepping food for Tuesday)

Last night I decided to make homemade hummus, a first.  But before we get to that, I also decided to make some green juice for this morning.  Whilst the lid was drying, it proceeded to fall off its perch and crack in half.  Observe:

juicer lid, with crack

It fits together at least.  I’m hoping I can just duct tape this little situation, but we’ll see.

Back to the hummus!

A couple of things:

  1. It was my first time buying tahini.  Did you know that you find it next to the peanut butter?  I certainly didn’t!
  2. Chickpeas and garbanzo beans are one in the same; I was unaware.  You learn something new everyday!

tahini

I’m still trying to get over the whole tahini in the peanut butter aisle and chickpea/garbanzo bean confusion…

I decided to make the hummus in my less than reliable blender; luckily it did the trick (phew!):

hummus, in a blender

I made the hummus to bring to work for the next few days – hummus & veggie wrap, anyone?

hummus, to go

Homemade Garlic Lovers Hummus (check the original recipe, pre-tweak, here from Oh She Glows)

  • 1 can (15 oz) chickpeas (or garbanzo beans), drained
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1/3 c tahini
  • lemon juice from 2 lemons (ends up being ~6 tbsp)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp Frank’s Red Hot (love that stuff)
  • Olive oil, for drizzling

And, since I was on a cooking binge of sorts, I figured I’d throw together a little parfait for myself to bring to work:

parfait (in recycled cup)

parfait: bird’s eye view

Yummy right?  Step by step instructions to follow.  But, be warned:  it was tough saving this for today.

healthygirlandthecity Parfait

  • 1/2 c greek yogurt (I used 0% plain)
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp granola (I used Kind)
  • 2 strawberries, sliced
  • Honey drizzle
  • Few dashes of cinnamon
  • Repeat, but substitute wheat germ for the flax this time around
  • Enjoy!

Until next time, with a little more substance…

11 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers, Homemade Hummus & Greek Yogurt Parfait

  1. Pingback: The Mediterranean Diet – Some defining information | The GOLDEN RULE

  2. I totally get having a cold and not being able to think straight!! Homemade hummus is sooooo good!!! Try adding spinach and artichoke next batch – it’s like a little gift from heaven🙂

  3. Can’t go wrong with a ton of Breaking Bad and good food. My boyfriend and I have been trying to catch up to the 5th season, so we’ve been doing the marathon Netflix thing, too. Also, good idea on the parfait. I always crave sweets at night, and this is a healthy way to do it. Have you ever tried it with agave syrup?

    • Breaking Bad gets better and better – enjoy it while you can! We are all caught up now and experiencing withdrawal, haha. I haven’t tried the parfait (or plain yogurt) with agave syrup, but I’m sure you could use it in place of the honey…let me know if you give it a try. Thanks for checking out the blog!

  4. Breaking Bad does get better and better. We’re into Season 5 Episode 5 tonight got it on iTunes . Can’t get enough! Great recipe by the way..sorry got off track for a second🙂

Leave a Reply

