Juice Cleanse Follow-Up & My Superfoods Smoothie (yes, more smoothies!)

Good morning & Happy Friday!  Never thought this week would end…

Follow-Up

I wasn’t doing this juice diet/cleanse for weight loss purposes, though obviously I would welcome any lost poundage with open arms.  So, I weighed myself for this process because I had to know!  The result:  seven pounds!  I was shocked too.

When it came time to eat this morning, I felt guilty in a way.  Eat food?  What?!  Of course I had all sorts of ideas in mind (nothing too outlandish): eggs with spinach, tomato and feta?  Some Nature’s Path Organic Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Crunch with unsweetened vanilla almond milk (my new fave combo)?

behold: pumpkin raisin crunch!

But, I knew I had to start off easy for my stomach’s sake; the whole eating guilt wasn’t helping either.  What to make?  Hmmm…  I know!  A superfoods smoothie!  If you haven’t checked it out yet, please take a quick look at my Superfoods 101 blog (props to David Wolfe).

My First Superfoods Smoothie

  • 1/2 c  coconut water
  • 5 strawberries
  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • ~1/2 c blackberries (these are optional – I added them at the last minute since I had a bunch leftover from the Purple Power Juice)
  • 1 tbsp goji berries
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder with maca
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp raw honey
  • 4 ice cubes

superfoods smoothie, before

superfoods smoothie, after

This smoothie was definitely different from what I’m used to – mine almost always include a banana.  And this one wasn’t as sweet either, but I love that it took me over an hour to drink!  Nothing worse than sucking down a smoothie in five minutes.  There’s just something about knowing you’re consuming something über healthy to start off your day – bring on the superfoods smoothie!

Oh, and since this one included almond butter, I’m going to let you in on a little secret about me:  I don’t like peanut butter.  I actually hate it.  Nut butters in general have never been for me; I think it’s the texture, too thick.  I’m trying to come around to almond butter at the very least, so it’s perfect to throw in a smoothie (plus it helps kind of hold everything together).

Possible Benefits

Some potential benefits of a juice cleanse/diet include increased elimination of harmful waste and toxins, immune system and energy boost, clearer skin, increased metabolism, improved organ function and digestive health (thanks livestrong.com).  You are able to fit a lot more fruits and veggies into your day – obviously a lot more went into the juicer than I could’ve actually eaten.  So, at the very least, you are consuming a lot more micronutrients than you would otherwise with juicing.

What I Learned

  • Willpower is a must – apparently I have some
  • It was really a great experience despite some of the touch and go moments I had (yay me for sticking with it)
  • I learned a lot about listening to/nourishing my body
  • I miss my juice!

If you’re up for some additional reading on juicing, there was an article just this week, How to Juice at Home from well + GOOD nyc.

Thinking of giving juicing a try?  You should!

4 thoughts on “Juice Cleanse Follow-Up & My Superfoods Smoothie (yes, more smoothies!)

  1. Hi there! I can’t find your email address so am contacting you this way. (My sincere apologies!!!). You are currently subscribed to Hipfoodiemom.com (my food blog) through WordPress and I have recently moved to self hosting so you will not receive my posts anymore automatically. If you’d like to continue reading, please go to http://hipfoodiemom.com/ and subscribe via RSS or email. I hope to keep you as a reader! Thank you so much!

    I love this smoothie recipe! thank you for sharing!🙂

  2. Pingback: Juice Cleanse - Everything You Always Wanted to Know

Leave a Reply

