Healthy “Ice Cream” (that isn’t ice cream at all)

Did everyone have a nice weekend?  Despite the heat and disgusting humidity here in the city, mine wasn’t too shabby.  One of the highlights was finally using my new yonanas machine (a gift from my very thoughtful boyfriend).  For those of you who don’t know what this gadget is, it’s very simple:

  1. Freeze bananas (you can add lots of other frozen fruits too)
  2. Insert in the chute
  3. Out comes “ice cream

Pretty nifty if you ask me!  I had been planning on using it for a couple of weeks (bananas were peeled, in the freezer and ready to use), and just happened to come across this great idea the other day: Banana “Ice Cream” with Toasted Coconut, Almonds & Dark Chocolate from Ambitious Kitchen.  So, what did I do?  I went out, bought a little coconut, some almonds and chocolate chips of course!

yonanas

Insert some frozen bananas, and:

“ice cream”

Josh chose to add a little frozen raspberry to his:

My finished product – Banana “Ice Cream” with Toasted Coconut, Almonds & Dark Chocolate (I substituted milk chocolate chips since I couldn’t find dark):

yum!

Q & A

  • Don’t have a yonanas?  You can use a food processor or blender.
  • What’s it like exactly?  Well, it obviously tastes like bananas, but has the consistency of ice cream which we were impressed with.
  • My opinion?  Not a bad alternative if you’re looking for a healthy frozen treat!  I plan to try Avocado “Ice Cream” next…

That’s all for now.  Tonight I will be heading to Whole Foods to stock up for my three-day juice diet that kicks off tomorrow… Wish me luck because yes, I will need it!

5 thoughts on “Healthy “Ice Cream” (that isn’t ice cream at all)

  1. Oooo! Another gadget I might have to have! What a great idea.

    My big investment this summer was my Omega Vert juicer, which has me ‘drinking’ half-a-garden every morning and gets me to thinking…juiced borscht…juiced bloody mary’s…juiced tumeric root (major anti-inflamm)…juiced cucumber juice…juiced kale…etc.

    NOW, with thing Yoyonas thing, I’ve got a whole new garden of possibilities. Bananas + nut butter…+ chia seed… + white chocolate… + dark chocolate… + rose water… + cookie bits… +who knows!

  2. Pingback: Red Wine Ice Cream | healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

