When Life Gives You Avocados, Make Vegan Quinoa Mexican Soup!

Did I mention that I love Mexican food?  Borderline obsessed, really.  Suffice it to say that I’ve been having lots of withdrawal these days.   No more sugar-laden margaritas, chips & salsa or massive burritos.  It’s rather tragic to be honest; there are way too many incredible Mexican restaurants here in NYC, taunting me continuously.  So, when I came across this recipe earlier in the week, I knew I’d have to make it (sooner rather than later): Quinoa Mexican Soup!

Side note:  my new favorite hobby is finding recipes to try.  If you have any [healthy] ideas for me, do tell!  (Please refer to comment section below and have at it!)

Dinner

This blog wouldn’t be quite the same if I shopped at a normal grocery store.  What wasn’t in stock today, you ask?  Poblano peppers.  I got over it, but was disappointed nonetheless.

Anyway, I tweaked the recipe a bit:  I added the leftover zucchini from the curry I made Monday, decided to add a yellow pepper in addition to the red and threw in a can of black beans (make sure to rinse the beans, it reduces the sodium).  Oh, and the whole veggie roasting step?  Never happened.  I took the lazy route and just threw everything into the pot.  No olive oil needed either.

The result:  very chili-esque, and more importantly, it gave me the Mexican food fix I needed.  Problem solved.

mexican fix in a bowl

You’ll note from the photo that I really piled on the avocado.

  1. You can never really have too much avocado
  2. I live alone, and there’s nothing worse than allowing a perfectly fine avocado to go bad; I’m hoping the other half survives until lunch tomorrow, fingers crossed…

A Quick Lesson:  Avocados

Avocados are, for lack of a better word, awesome.  They are good source of fiber, potassium, and vitamins C & K, folate and B6.  Additionally, half an avocado has 160 calories, 15 grams of heart-healthy unsaturated fat and only 2 grams saturated fat – thanks WebMD!

3 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Avocados, Make Vegan Quinoa Mexican Soup!

  1. Pingback: Can’t Get Enough Quinoa #meatlessmonday « healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

