Smoothies & Such (but really just smoothies)

So I’m still on the fence, but I might be doing a three-day juice diet next week!  I recently purchased a juicer via Groupon (surprise, surprise – it arrived over two weeks ago) that I have yet to utilize.  The new juicer, coupled with watching Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead last week, inspired me.  Without telling you anything about the documentary, other than juicing and weight loss are involved, I will tell you that you should watch.  It streams for free on Netflix, or you can sign up on the RebootYourLife site and watch it there.  Bonus to signing up:  you have access to various “Reboot Plans” ranging from three to 15 days.  If you have downtime this weekend, watch – if I actually get my act together and go through with this juicing diet, you might enjoy the subsequent blogging more…

In a kind of “prep” for next week, I figured I’d have some fun with smoothies

FYI, my blender is terrible.  I bought it for like $20 a couple of years ago for the sake of having a blender.  Some advice – if you’re going to buy a blender, buy one that actually blends and doesn’t smell like burning rubber after about 20 seconds.  Though my blender was incredibly cheap, I still feel like I wasted $20 on the thing.  That being said, I am saving up for a Vitamix (whilst trying to convince my parents to give me their old one in the interim)!

…(back to having fun with smoothies) I concocted what I’d like to dub, The Easiest Smoothie Ever:

  • 1 banana
  • ~5 strawberries
  • Unsweetened vanilla almond milk (around 1/3 c – depends how thick you want it)
  • ~4 ice cubes
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder* (originally I thought vanilla, but then: chocolate covered banana, chocolate covered strawberries; chocolate it is!)
  • Optional: 2 tsp chia seeds – stir them in after you blend and let sit for a few minutes

*I made this smoothie on Tuesday, and again yesterday.  Since I worked out Tuesday, I used the protein powder; yesterday I didn’t since I was allowing myself a recovery day – busy gym week!  It’s better with the chocolate, but definitely is fine without.

Ghetto fabulous photos:

before / after

the protein powder i use

In sticking with the smoothie theme for today’s post, I have come across quite a few yummy sounding smoothie recipes in my new favorite hobby (finding recipes to try).  One that I enjoyed both Wednesday and this morning for breakfast was a Carrot-Ginger-Orange-Spinach Detoxifying Smoothie.

Since the recipe calls for carrot juice and my juicer is not yet out of its box (in fact it’s still hanging out under my desk at work), I stopped at a local store down the street that juices to pick some up.  Regarding the ginger, I put in as little as possible since I’m convinced I’m slightly allergic (it makes me itch, though I’m not sure at this point if it’s just in my head or if it’s legit).  I definitely threw more spinach in Wednesday’s batch (it was fresher on Wednesday and slightly wilty this morning) – it was less sweet as a result.  What nutritional benefits can you expect from consumption?  Vitamins A & C!

A Quick Lesson: Spinach

Spinach (among other green veggies) gets its color from chlorophyll, a natural blood purifier that supports the liver and kidneys in the elimination of toxins.  While being chock full of nutrients, green foods also contain high amounts of vitamin K, which is necessary for blood clotting and building strong bones – thanks IINSpinach itself is extremely rich in antioxidants, vitamins A, B2, B6, C, E & K, magnesium manganese, folate, betaine, iron, calcium, potassium, folic acid, copper, protein, phosphorus, zinc, niacin, selenium and omega-3 fatty acids.  Are you thinking what I’m thinking?  Adding a little more spinach into the diet wouldn’t hurt!

Oh, did you want to see how this smoothie making went down?  Here’s another ghetto fabulous photo for your viewing pleasure:

before / after

One last thing before I let you go:  when it comes to smoothies, a little goes a long way.  I think sometimes people overdo it with the content.  Don’t put in the smoothie what you wouldn’t eat in one sitting.  Fruit does contain sugar – you don’t want to go overboard.

Let me know if you concoct a smoothie of your own – happy smoothie making!

3 thoughts on “Smoothies & Such (but really just smoothies)

  1. Pingback: Grillin’ up a storm! « Eating at my Desk

  2. Pingback: A solid workout and much ado about nothing « Eating at my Desk

  3. Pingback: Fueling workouts with food and sleep | Eating at my Desk

Leave a Reply

