Meatless Monday Indian Style & Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia for Dessert

Not only did healthygirlandthecity celebrate one month of blogging yesterday, Meatless Monday is back!  Don’t tell me you forgot?!

Tonight I decided to make Zucchini Tomato Curry for dinner.

Other than Mexican food, Indian is one of my favorites.  And, in trying to stay healthy (which is sometimes easier said than done), I haven’t been eating it much.  So, when I came across this recipe, I couldn’t help myself – it was healthy-ish AND it was perfect for Meatless Monday – double whammy!

I had to pick up a few of the ingredients (including multiple spices), but I love how easy this was.  As you can see below, I added carrots to the mix since I had some leftover from the soup last week.  You can never go wrong with too many vegetables as far as I’m concerned.

veggies, more veggies & tomato puree

I didn’t know tomatoes could look like that!  Did you?  Not only was tonight my first go at pureeing tomatoes, but it was also the first time I’ve used ginger.  Yes, it comes with my sushi, but I’ve never actually had to figure the stuff out before on my own.  It was a little intimidating, but I managed to peel it and somewhat dice it, somewhat.

a little brown rice and homemade zucchini tomato curry (sometimes i amaze myself)

Some takeaways:

  • The recipe calls for 3 zucchini – I only used 2 1/2 (and they were small zucchini); I would say go with two zucchini OR a third tomato to make it more saucy.  I like sauce, what can I say?
  • I’m horrible with ginger, horrible (in case you didn’t get the memo) – apparently I didn’t dice it well enough (if biting into huge chunks is any indication)
  • I used brown rice with mine instead of basmati, and yes, quinoa probably would have been an acceptable substitution too

Dessert

Did someone say something about dessert?!  Before we talk about what I concocted, a little back story…

I bought some chia seeds last week, and have been mixing about two teaspoons/day into eight ounces of water.  You may recall that I gave a quick mention of chia in my Superfoods 101 blog.

If you forgot, a quick refresher:

Chia Seeds – contain lots of antioxidants, are a good sources of omega-3s and protein.  And let’s not forget, fiber!

The texture is interesting to say the least, but they’re growing on me.  Kind of like an all-natural gelatin of sorts – you can add them to almost anything really.  If you want a little more reading on the topic, check out 6 Reasons Why You Should Eat Chia by Abby Phon; it’s where I found this recipe for Chai Chia Pudding.

I threw all the ingredients in the blender (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk), then stirred in the chia seeds.  I agree, doesn’t look that great at this point:

chai chia pudding – before

Then after it sat in the fridge for a bit, I stirred it some more & put some in my little dessert cup:

chai chia pudding – after

Okay, I still agree – it looks rather unappetizing.  Definitely unique, but yummy nonetheless.

4 thoughts on “Meatless Monday Indian Style & Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia for Dessert

  1. …more great recipes, although I’m not sure that Chai seeds are readily available everywhere?!? So, how was the pudding?

  2. No, chia seeds are not available everywhere – but you should be able to find them at most health food stores! The pudding tasted just like chai with a consistency similar to that of tapioca. It was good!

  3. Pingback: Creamy Chia Ambrosia Creme Nice Pudding Recipe. | Deliciously Wild

  4. Pingback: Maple Walnut Chia Pudding {vegan + gluten-free} | healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

