My Meatless Monday Pledge & Italian Stir Fry

Happy Monday everyone!  I was going to take a day off from blogging, but couldn’t help myself.

For the last few months I’ve been hearing the term “Meatless Monday“, but wasn’t quite sure exactly why I was hearing it everywhere.  It wasn’t until today that I did a little research about this movement, and I think it’s fantastic.  I wanted to share my findings and thoughts with you.

Meatless Monday

(Much of what I’m going to be telling you, can you check out for yourself on their website.)

What is it?  It’s a non-profit initiative of the Monday Campaigns (in association with the Johns Hopkins’ Bloomberg School of Public Health), and they help you kick off each week with healthy, environmentally friendly meat-free alternatives.

Their goal?  To help you reduce your meat consumption by 15% – to improve your health, and the health of the planet.  Pretty great, right?  I thought so.

What’s in it for you?

  • Limit cancer risk
  • Reduce heart disease
  • Fight diabetes
  • Curb obesity
  • Live longer
  • Improve your diet

Please note:  When you do eat meat, opt for grass-fed, hormone-free, locally-raised (when possible of course)!

Benefits for the Earth

  • Reduce your carbon footprint
  • Minimize water usage
  • Help reduce fossil fuel dependence

Monday is a great time to set intentions for the rest of the week.  And today, I pledged to go Meatless on Mondays – will you?  Need a little inspiration?  Tonight I whipped up a little Pasta Primavera, or as I like to call it, Italian Stir Fry…

summer squash, green pepper, some onion & garlic

I sautéed some veggies, added a little whole wheat pasta & sauce and some ricotta (have way too much left over from my Lemon Quinoa with Ricotta and Peas recipe from last night) – dinner was served!

italian stir fry w my condiments of choice

To bring it back to the topic of “Meatless” – have any of you ever watched “Forks Over Knives“?  If not, I would highly recommend it (it’s available to stream on Netflix); if so, please feel free to tell us your thoughts in the comments below!  I’m getting a little off topic here, but once you watch, you’ll understand – in my opinion, the vegetarian and vegan lifestyles are not for everyone.  But there are many benefits to a more plant-based, processed foods free diet.  And for most, it’s about moderation and making small changes.  Meatless Monday is a great place to start, and I hope you decide to make the pledge too (Psst!  You can pledge by clicking here.).

cheers to meatless monday!

4 thoughts on “My Meatless Monday Pledge & Italian Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Ratatouille Lasagna « healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

