Adventure with Carrot Soup & Condiments

Before I kick off on my Adventure with Carrot Soup, I hope that everyone had a fun and safe Fourth of July.  My friends and I had a nice night at the Frying Pan over on Pier 66.  We had a great view of the fireworks:

happy 4th!

Now back to the blog:

I think I’m finally starting to grasp the whole Pinterest concept.  I’ve been pinning to my Recipes Board quite a bit, and am compiling a list of recipes I’d like to attempt.  One that I found today was called “Roasted Carrot Soup with Dill Pesto” from http://alainasullivan.blogspot.com/.  Even though it was 90+ degrees today, I was craving soup.  Of course that was while I was in a comfortable, air-conditioned office.  Once I was on my way home and had to stop at the grocery store, it was then that I started to second guess my recipe choice.  I had already decided to nix the “Dill Pesto” portion (again with “keeping it simple”; though it sounded delicious, I didn’t want to get caught up in buying all kinds of ingredients), but I stuck with the “Roasted Carrot Soup” and added a few personal touches while I was at it…

My Grocery List

Carrots
Red Pepper (personal touch)
Garlic
Veggie Broth
1/2 cup Firm Tofu

Easy enough, right?  I already had the remaining ingredients at home.

Remaining Ingredients

Olive Oil
1/2 Red Onion
Salt
Pepper
Dollop of 0% Chobani (personal touch)
Sriracha (personal touch)

Can you guess which item on my list I had never bought before?  Tofu!  Thank goodness the recipe specified firm, or I don’t know which I would’ve purchased (for me, the less options, the better).  I had no idea that tofu came in varying firmnesses, nor did I know that you can buy organic tofu!  [Side note: the water in the tofu container kind of grosses me out.]  After grabbing the veggies and tofu, I bought chicken broth by accident (oops!) – I guess out of habit, but it was organic!  With the veggie broth, this would be a great vegetarian/vegan option.

I know you must be curious at this point about what exactly I’m working with in terms of a kitchen, no?

where the magic happens

I began by cutting up the veggies on my kitchen table, and cutting veggies has never been my forte.  I used to cut onions and peppers very chunky/overly large, but seem to be getting better with practice.  After the carrots were peeled and diced, I realized that I don’t own a baking sheet; I improvised with a loaf pan.

the veggies – loaf pan & all

Once I browned the onions, garlic and peppers in a little olive oil, I took the carrots out of the oven and threw them in the pot with some broth.

simmering…

Once they got soft enough, I busted out the blender, which I almost forgot I had, and dumped the contents from the pot into the blender.  Let’s just say that this wasn’t the easiest task, but I managed without a spill.  Sometimes I impress myself, and this was one of those moments.

the finished product!

Once I dished it out, I was ready to add the condiments*: a little salt and pepper, a dollop of Chobani and some Sriracha sauce on top…tasty!  I will definitely be making this one again.

carrot soup – condiments & all

*One of the other concepts I’ve picked up on at IIN is to “vary flavoring/condiments” – this recipe is a pretty great example because the soup is great on its own, but can be flavored so many ways depending on your preference.  Have some fun with it!  Til next time…

One thought on “Adventure with Carrot Soup & Condiments

  1. Pingback: Biscuits, Baked Oatmeal & Soup (more pumpkin) « healthygirlandthecity

Leave a Reply

