Yay Friday…& Bringing Lunch to Work

Happy Friday everyone!  I hope you all had a wonderful end to the week, and are staying cool indoors with the AC blasting (I know I am).  So here goes blog #2…

In my third week at IIN (currently in week six) I learned about “healthy cooking”, and one concept that really stuck with me was “cook once, eat twice” – so last night, that is what I did.  No, I didn’t eat two meals…  I neglected to mention that last night I enjoyed my “pinto-and-rice burger” atop a pretty yummy salad: spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes, beets, a little goat cheese and some honey mustard dressing.  But let me back up for a minute here.

Two weekends ago, while I was enjoying a lovely weekend at home in Massachusetts, I decided to make an exciting purchase of sorts.  In my “healthy cooking” studies there was one suggestion that I really liked, so I did it.  I went out and bought a fun Tupperware set and lunchbox!  Sadly, it was very exciting for me.  To say that I bragged about my new purchase would be an understatement.  And it’s true – having something nice to bring your lunch to work in is motivation in and of itself.  This is coming from someone who typically does not bring her lunch to work for a  number of reasons (aka excuses) – I didn’t get a chance to go grocery shopping so I have nothing to make; I woke up too late and didn’t have time to throw something together before I rushed to work; I ran out of plastic baggies or didn’t have anything with which to bring food to work; I was just too lazy.  The list goes on and on and on…  And on top of the excuses there is also something nice about running out to grab lunch, like you get to actually take a walk and leave your desk for a few minutes of sanity.  It took a week and a half for me to finally utilize my awesome purchase, but last night seemed like the perfect opportunity.

Back to my yummy salad – I bought all the ingredients, and knew there was way too much for just one salad.  And, given my history of buying too much, I knew all of the veggies would go bad over the weekend.  So I heeded some advice from my course, “cook once, eat twice” and made a second salad in my little container.  This container, if you are a big salad person like I am, is incredible and I highly recommended buying one.  It’s the LunchBlox™ Salad Kit from Rubbermaid that I purchased at Target for about $10.  It holds plenty of lettuce, has a toppings tray (that’s where put the beets and goat  cheese) and a salad dressing container.  No fridge?  No problem – it even comes with an ice pack!  If you don’t believe me, check it out for yourself (get your Google on).  So I threw that together in about two minutes since everything was already prepped and threw one of the “pinto-and-rice burgers” on top.  So easy.  This morning I threw it in my lunchbox, and was out the door.  And if you wanted some pictures, then you’re in luck:

my lunchbox (it’s so cool it’s made of scuba material)

voila! condensation and all.

On a side note, it’s almost 10pm, and I have no idea what I want for dinner.  If you’re wondering, I could technically “eat thrice” because there are some leftovers.  But I don’t think I can handle another salad and “pinto-and-rice burger” to be honest.  However, I do  have an avocado, a red onion, a tomato and some cilantro (yes, from my new plant) that have my name written all over them.  Guacamole, anyone?

Leave a Reply

